Discussion topic: Getting Wi-Fi to summer house

This message was authored by PAUL+LAITY This message was authored by: PAUL+LAITY

Getting Wi-Fi to summer house

Hi.  I am a novice here so hoping for lots of expert guidance!

we have a summer house (small one) in the garden.  Ethernet cable goes from sky Q mini to port in wall of the summer house.  What do I need to get Wi-Fi  out of the port for iPad/ phone/ laptop etc?  

please can you help.  Assuming thee is a simple solution 🙃

Best Answers
This message was authored by Skull+Treaty This message was authored by: Skull+Treaty Answer

Re: Getting Wi-Fi to summer house

Posted by a Superuser, not a Sky employee. Find out more

@PAUL+LAITY Indeed it is, something like this  is what you need.

"Sometimes, the only choices you have are bad ones, but you still have to choose"

View this Answer within the discussion

All Replies

This message was authored by Skull+Treaty This message was authored by: Skull+Treaty

@PAUL+LAITY 

An Access Point and maybe an unmanaged switch if you need more ethernet ports 🙂

"Sometimes, the only choices you have are bad ones, but you still have to choose"
PAUL+LAITY
Topic Author
This message was authored by PAUL+LAITY This message was authored by: PAUL+LAITY

Cheers but I have no idea what that is.  A piece of equipment I buy and plug in?

This message was authored by Skull+Treaty This message was authored by: Skull+Treaty Answer

@PAUL+LAITY Indeed it is, something like this  is what you need.

PAUL+LAITY
Topic Author

Yay, cheers v much.  Will give that a go. 👍😀

This message was authored by Skull+Treaty This message was authored by: Skull+Treaty

@PAUL+LAITY 

The AP only has one Ethernet port, so you may want an unmanaged switch  also, best to keep the Q mini connected via Ethernet and the use the AP to broadcast the radio signal. Check places like Amazon for best prices etc.

This message was authored by Chrisee This message was authored by: Chrisee