Discussion topic: WiFi lost connection

This message was authored by Gudero This message was authored by: Gudero

WiFi lost connection

Hello,

I'm new to Sky broadband -coming from BT- and although i'm happy with the wired connection i think wifi signal isn't as strong as BT's, which is a bit disappointing. The router is in the same place as the old BT router, but i don't get fast access and sometimes the signal is poor.

Moreover, a couple of days ago i lost all wifi connection from all my devices. All the lights were green and running. I restarted the router a few times and then i performed a reset with no luck. I couldn't even find the name. I could find some new names which i tried with my old password to no avail. I connected to the online 192.168. 0.1 only to find out that the name of the network and the password have changed. Tried contacting sky online only to get here and ask the question (BT had an online web chat which was useful as i'm at work and i can't be on the phone).

I don't get it, both network name and passwords are different than the originals and what i have on the router.

Could someone please advise? Thanks

All Replies

This message was authored by TimmyBGood This message was authored by: TimmyBGood

Re: WiFi lost connection

Posted by a Superuser, not a Sky employee. Find out more

@Gudero wrote:

I'm new to Sky broadband -coming from BT- and although i'm happy with the wired connection i think wifi signal isn't as strong as BT's, which is a bit disappointing. The router is in the same place as the old BT router, but i don't get fast access and sometimes the signal is poor.

If you've gone from a vertical BT Hub model to a horizontal Sky Q Hub then yes, unfortunately that's quite likely: the Q Hub is a triumph of brand identity over common sense.

I don't get it, both network name and passwords are different than the originals and what i have on the router.