Discussion topic: Using Sky Go on Apple TV

This message was authored by mikeamherst This message was authored by: mikeamherst

Using Sky Go on Apple TV

I notice that the Sky Go app has launched on Apple TV. As a Sky Q customer with only the one TV I'd like to be able to access programming through my Apple TV as it's so much snappier than the Sky Q interface for apps. Any idea if streaming on Sky Go on Apple TV supports HD, UHD or Atmos? And what channels are missing on Sky Go? I also see that to use Sky Go on Apple TV I need to pay for a multi screen subscription. Personally, provided I can get the picture and sound I want I'd be happy to pay for and only access Sky through my Apple TV rather than needing the Sky Q box. 

Best Answers
This message was authored by nigea99 This message was authored by: nigea99 Answer

Re: Using Sky Go on Apple TV

Posted by a Superuser, not a Sky employee. Find out more

SKY Go does not currently support UHD - I am not an expert but I think that SKY go doesn't even support Full HD (i.e. 1080) but may be limited to 720 - I am sure the experts here will correct me if I am wrong

I think SKY Go is seen more as a 'support' than a fully fledged alternative to SKY Minis etc 

Whether that willl ever change I am not sure - especially as SKY introduce the SKY Stream product

View this Answer within the discussion

All Replies

This message was authored by nigea99 This message was authored by: nigea99 Answer

Posted by a Superuser, not a Sky employee. Find out more

SKY Go does not currently support UHD - I am not an expert but I think that SKY go doesn't even support Full HD (i.e. 1080) but may be limited to 720 - I am sure the experts here will correct me if I am wrong

I think SKY Go is seen more as a 'support' than a fully fledged alternative to SKY Minis etc 

Whether that willl ever change I am not sure - especially as SKY introduce the SKY Stream product

This message was authored by fizzdisco This message was authored by: fizzdisco