Discussion topic: Problem with sky q and bt discs - advice pls

This message was authored by LouiseThompson80 This message was authored by: LouiseThompson80

Problem with sky q and bt discs - advice pls

We have sky Q  (with two mini boxes upstairs) and a BT smart hub 2.

When we are just using the smart hub 2, the connection to sky Q is fine and solid, but whenever I try to introduce the BT discs in other rooms, the sky Q connection drops constantly.

I am not very technical but I assume the sky Q main box is getting confused between the smart hub and the BT disc and doesn't know which to connect to.

My smart hub is fairly close to the sky q main box, but isn't close enough to be connected by ethernet. The bt disc is much further away in a room upstairs.

I spoke with someone at BT today, as we have tried to make do without the disc, but we really need it to be able to get Wi-Fi in the back bedroom which is in an extension.

They advised that they will send me out an additional BT disc, which I can place right behind the sky Q box and then connect the two by ethernet.

I wasn't overly convinced that the person on the BT live chat knew what they were talking about, but can anyone advise whether this will work please?

if I connect the sky Q box to a new BT disc by ethernet, will the mini boxes upstairs still connect wirelessly to sky Q ok?

And also, once I've connected the sky Q box to the new disc via ethernet, do I have to go into settings anywhere (either sky or BT)  and make any changes ?

I really hope this sorts out my issue… I would just switch to sky broadband, but I really do need the BT disc to get Wi-Fi around the whole house.

Many thanks.

All Replies

LouiseThompson80
Topic Author
This message was authored by LouiseThompson80 This message was authored by: LouiseThompson80

Re: Problem with sky q and bt discs - advice pls