Discussion topic: Locked out of email

This message was authored by pbarnfield This message was authored by: pbarnfield

Locked out of email

Firstly I am a Sky Customer and resorting to posting on here on behalf of someone else.  I am an IT Tech and I have been approached by a customer who can no longer access his Sky emails.   We tried password recovery, but apparently his Last Name answer is incorrect - with or without capital first letters.

He then tells me he hasn't been a Sky Customer for some time, so I suspect the account is suspended.  Tried to call and use the Live Chat Assistant, but everytime is sends us here.  Went to post after setting up his replacement email account elsewhere, and then realised you have to sign in!  Handy as we cannot do this, hence why I'm trying to help him.

He doesn't recall ever getting an email to say his account will be suspended (assuming that is the issue here, unless it's been taken over/compromised).  But he does have some important emails on there which relate to some legal disputes, so he wants to be able to get them back or have his email content backed up / exported and sent to him.

Any suggestions on how to get in touch with someone to check on this.  Of course if there are any advisors here that can at least check his Sky email to see what is going on, I really would appreciate a message and I'll happily share the required info.

Thanks, Phil

Best Answers
This message was authored by jayach This message was authored by: jayach Answer

Re: Locked out of email

Posted by a Superuser, not a Sky employee. Find out more

@pbarnfield wrote:

Screenshot 2023-08-02 133827.png

That usually means they have detected a security problem with the account, and need the user to pass security. The problem is that the agents answering that number never seem to know what to do, it will probably take a few tries before he get an agent who does know.

View this Answer within the discussion

All Replies