Discussion topic: Third party ASUS router suggestions that work with Sky Ultrafast FTTP?

This message was authored by Weasel-in-jeans This message was authored by: Weasel-in-jeans

Third party ASUS router suggestions that work with Sky Ultrafast FTTP?

Good afternoon my Tech savvy friends.

I must first warn you that i am more than capable of asking lots of SFQ's as i am a novice at anything Broadband. For this i apologise.

I have recently upgraded to Sky Ultrafast Fibre and had a little white box placed on my internal wall. I belive this is an ONT box? With that in mind, i wish to upgrade my SKY Q Router 4 to a third party router, such as an ASUS, for more customisation in PC and Console Gaming. 

I currently have around 35 devices feeding off of my WiFi which i suspect i will have top trim down to avoid traffic jams. I collect Tech & Gadgets hence the ridiculous amount of devices. 

I read some of the threads about Flashing Merlin on new routers etc.......I was lost after the second paragraph so want to make this as painless as possible for all involved. If you could just point to a choice of 3 Routers that will defo work with my Fibre setup, then i will purchase the one that lights up the most. 

Thank you  in advance for any feedback.

Best Answers
This message was authored by jamesn123 This message was authored by: jamesn123 Answer

Re: Third party ASUS router suggestions that work with Sky Ultrafast FTTP?

Posted by a Superuser, not a Sky employee. Find out more

@Weasel-in-jeans 

Good choice same router as me 😁

The setting can be found under WAN in advanced settings.

First change the connection type to Automatic IP then scroll down the 'DHCP Option' section.

You may need to upgrade the firmware first.

Also yes I would unplug the ONT for a bit before you connect the Asus router to it so you can allow it to 'forget' the Sky hub.