Discussion topic: Router located in cupboard

This message was authored by Ramone70 This message was authored by: Ramone70

Router located in cupboard

New install complete however our builder located the Openreach hub in an upstairs cupboard, subsequently so is the router.

is this ok or is it better to be relocated?

Best Answers
This message was authored by TimmyBGood This message was authored by: TimmyBGood Answer

Re: Router located in cupboard

Posted by a Superuser, not a Sky employee. Find out more

@Ramone70 

Personally I prefer to have devices on ethernet where possible, but then I wrangle networks for a living.

Might be useful to note that it's apparently possible to have Powerline network adapters between an ONT and a Hub (which bugs me because this really shouldn't work ; ) but on the higher Ultrafast speeds that could definitely create a bottleneck.

Sky Glass 55" (on ethernet) & two Stream Pucks (one ethernet / one WiFi)
BT Halo 3+ Ultrafast FTTP (500Mbs), BT Smart Hub 2

View this Answer within the discussion

All Replies

This message was authored by TimmyBGood This message was authored by: TimmyBGood

@Ramone70 

It's not ideal, but seems to be a trend with builders.  The main issue is do you need to plug in a corded phone, or are you happy using DECT wireless handsets, and do you want to get ethernet cable to any devices?

Ramone70
Topic Author

We wouldnt need a landline just to ensure that we have sufficient wifi for working from home / sky stream etc .

the cupboard is upstairs both the sky stream and my working is done downstairs.

This message was authored by TimmyBGood This message was authored by: TimmyBGood

@Ramone70 

Typically the aerial arrangement in a router means they provide less WiFi beneath them, and the construction materials involved in the building fabric will also have an effect.  I guess you could try it and see.

Ramone70
Topic Author