Discussion topic: Gaming Lag on Ultrafast Plus Fibre

This message was authored by buggyy This message was authored by: buggyy

Gaming Lag on Ultrafast Plus Fibre

About 7-10 days ago i started getting some serious lag while playing xbox. This has not been the case up until recently. I pay for Ultrafast plus up to 500mbps, i get 100-130mbps download but i have ping tested and it goes crazy. Have screenshots for all, even though my speed should be around 450 and has been previously, 130mbps should still comfortably be enough to play online.

I have screenshots of slow speeds, and crazy ping and its just unplayable. I have 6 Devices total connected, 2 of those being Sky Q boxes so very little connected. I have spoken to sky tech support, but if you have spoken to them before you know they know little to nothing. 

I work in the IT sector so i know they read a jargon script to try fob you off, i was told to disable my Broadband Shield potentially allowing harmful malware ridden websites to be accessed. Regardless i gave it a shot but no change so switched it back to be safe. 

Extra info: Never had a problem before i switched to sky even on a 79mbps package, before fibre was installed in my area about 9 months ago. 

All Replies

buggyy
Topic Author

Re: Gaming Lag on Ultrafast Plus Fibre

Screenshots attached below. Also, why on any speedtest site does it sit at 70-80mbps for 5 seconds before finally kicking in up to 130mbps,  even though it should be about 450mbps. Seems like they have some sort of cap, untill the connection demands more then it allows it. 

Screenshot 2023-11-22 at 23.15.37.pngScreenshot 2023-11-22 at 22.47.06.pngScreenshot 2023-11-22 at 22.47.27.pngScreenshot 2023-11-22 at 22.54.32.png

This message was authored by mormegil This message was authored by: mormegil

Is your Xbox connected via Ethernet or WiFi?

buggyy
Topic Author