Discussion topic: Eero 6 installation

This message was authored by Wifiboost71 This message was authored by: Wifiboost71

Eero 6 installation

Hello - I am a novice at this but have existing Eero 6 that i have set up but exists in addition to Sky Router Wifi because I dont know how to change Sky Q and 2 mini boxes to not need the Sky Router to work properly.  When i disable Sky Wifi and switch main box to Eero wifi the mini boxes wont work and pick up signal from main box to operate.  Can anyone help?   I cant connect sky box via ethernet able to EEro - Router in another room

All Replies

This message was authored by max+bank This message was authored by: max+bank

Re: Eero 6 installation

A couple of ideas:

Change the Eero wifi network name and SSID to the same as the sky router. The Sky Q may then see it ok and you can then turn off the sky router wifi.  You can then restrict the SkyQ to mini wifi network bands to help performance. 

https://helpforum.sky.com/t5/Broadband/Sky-Q-main-box-amp-eero-router/m-p/4271601

Otherwise get a second eero and place it so the SkyQ box can be on a wired connection and then do the same with the SkyQ wifi.

Once working make sure you turn off the router wifi.

Wifiboost71
Topic Author
This message was authored by Wifiboost71 This message was authored by: Wifiboost71

Thanks for response I have tried adding a new eero 6 with Ethernet cable to the sky box but sky box won't recognise and keeps connecting to the Sky wifi.  

I have tried switching wifi  on Q hub and mini hubs but can't access the advanced settings 

switch off Ski WiFi 2.4 and 5 has also reduced by broadband speeds on the eero??

confused 

This message was authored by TimmyBGood This message was authored by: TimmyBGood

Posted by a Superuser, not a Sky employee. Find out more

@Wifiboost71 

1) Press the ‘Home’ button on your remote control.
2) Scroll down to highlight ‘Settings’ but DO NOTpress select.
3) Press ‘001’.
4) Press ‘Select’

Then: Network -