Discussion topic: Sky Q - Internet / Satellite Dish query

This message was authored by 2greens1red This message was authored by: 2greens1red

Sky Q - Internet / Satellite Dish query

I've Sky Q (connected to satellite dish and WiFi) and a new LG TV (LG OLED48A26LA (2022) OLED HDR 4K Ultra HD Smart TV, with co-ax aerial connection, WiFi, Ethernet). They work fine, but I'm still learning.

Apologies for these very basic questions:

1) Does Sky Q need both satellite dish and WiFi?

2) What does the LG TV need to operate most efficiently - WiFi or Ethernet, conventional TV aerial?

I'm confused.

Best Answers
This message was authored by nigea99 This message was authored by: nigea99 Answer

Re: Sky Q - Internet / Satellite Dish query

Posted by a Superuser, not a Sky employee. Find out more

@2greens1red wrote:

I've Sky Q (connected to satellite dish and WiFi) and a new LG TV (LG OLED48A26LA (2022) OLED HDR 4K Ultra HD Smart TV, with co-ax aerial connection, WiFi, Ethernet). They work fine, but I'm still learning.

2) What does the LG TV need to operate most efficiently - WiFi or Ethernet, conventional TV aerial?

I'm confused.

hi @2greens1red 

SKy Q uses the Satellite Connected cables for 'Live' channels & to record from them

It uses the internet (wifi or ethernet) for any downloads from 'Catch up' or 'On demand' (UHD Films/Entertainment  are also downloads)  . It also uses the internet for any Apps

Your TV will use the internet (again wifi or ethernet) for any inbuilt apps such as Iplayer, Netflix & also for getting Firmware updates

Generally ethernet is more reliable than wifi but it depends on your wifi

The TV Aerial (connected to a traditional terrestrial Aerial) is used for the TV's 'Freeview' tuner so you can watch those channels without SKY Q connected - many peoople who have SKY do not use the Freeview channels as they are on SKY but I have both connected & do use Freeview 

View this Answer within the discussion

All Replies