Discussion topic: Re: Connecting surround sound

This message was authored by Andrewp118 This message was authored by: Andrewp118

Re: Connecting surround sound

Can I jump on this thread please! I have a similar problem. I have a soundbar with one hdmi and one optical, a skyq box and a tv with only one available tv hdmi because I have a firestick in the other. It is an e-arc port. Can I set this up so that only one hdmi port is used on tv and soundbar and sky q connect via optical? Sorry, but I have no technical knowledge!

All Replies

This message was authored by nigea99 This message was authored by: nigea99

Posted by a Superuser, not a Sky employee. Find out more

@Andrewp118 wrote:

Can I jump on this thread please! I have a similar problem. I have a soundbar with one hdmi and one optical, a skyq box and a tv with only one available tv hdmi because I have a firestick in the other. It is an e-arc port. Can I set this up so that only one hdmi port is used on tv and soundbar and sky q connect via optical? Sorry, but I have no technical knowledge!

hi @Andrewp118 

So as not to confuse the orignal discussion with replies to both I thought it might be better to separate your query into a new discussion.

If you do not need Atmos sound then using an optical cable from the SKY Q box to your Sound bar might be a suitable option for you.

If you can give make & models for both TV & Sound bar and what else besides the Firestick is using any HDMI ports & anything else connected to the Sound bar, we might be able to think of alternatives - although using an optical cable as above might be the simplest for you at this time

Andrewp118
Topic Author
This message was authored by Andrewp118 This message was authored by: Andrewp118

Soundbar/skyq/firestick/tv connection problem