Discussion topic: Sky Gigafast Installation location

This message was authored by gmdoom This message was authored by: gmdoom

Sky Gigafast Installation location

Hi, I've finally made the jump away from my broadband provider of 7 years to get gigafast with Sky and had a question regarding the installation. 

I have a master socket near the front door, but I want the new ONT (I think that's what is needed for FTTP) installing in the front room. I'll need to discuss on the day, but would Openreach move it or would the installation need to be where the current master socket is? This could be the decider for me with all of my current Ethernet cables routed nicely to where my current hub is.

Thanks,

Best Answers
This message was authored by Skull+Treaty This message was authored by: Skull+Treaty Answer

Re: Sky Gigafast Installation location

Posted by a Superuser, not a Sky employee. Find out more

@gmdoom 

Our fibre was coiled at the front door (up from the ground). On the day, the engineer runs fibre (they have in the van) from the ONT (that they'll install) round to where the fibre comes from the pole or ground and splice them. 

"Sometimes, the only choices you have are bad ones, but you still have to choose"

View this Answer within the discussion

All Replies

This message was authored by Skull+Treaty This message was authored by: Skull+Treaty

@gmdoom 

You can generally, within reason have the ONT installed at a place convenient for you. Our master socket was/is in a useless position and when Karl (OR engineer) came over we discussed where I wanted the ONT and that was it really. He needed 20 meters of fibre and set to work. The master socket is still in place, not in use.

"Sometimes, the only choices you have are bad ones, but you still have to choose"
This message was authored by cookiemonsteruk This message was authored by: cookiemonsteruk

@gmdoom