Discussion topic: Broadband keeps dropping out with "syslog: ptm0.1 - WAN link DOWN"

This message was authored by Mark+Hollis This message was authored by: Mark+Hollis

Broadband keeps dropping out with "syslog: ptm0.1 - WAN link DOWN"

Hi there,

Our home broadband has been unstable for over a week now, and I'm hoping someone can help. 

I'm no techie so please bare with me, I've pieced together some information from looking at previous posts on here.

I've accessed the router Support page, exported the activity logs, and filtered looking for something around the most recent time the connection dropped. I've spotted this:

16:20:00 syslog: ptm0.1 - WAN link DOWN.
16:41:47 syslog: ptm0.1 - WAN link DOWN.
16:55:27 syslog: ptm0.1 - WAN link DOWN.

The most recent one says:

16:41:47 syslog: ptm0.1 - WAN link DOWN.
16:41:47 syslog: DHCP lease invalid(WANoE). Connection DOWN.
16:41:50 syslog: Clear IP addresses. IP connection DOWN.
16:41:51 syslog: Voice IP Connection Down

Then there's a bunch of "syslog: [1191939.525000] Line 0: Rate Change, us=22531, ds=136156" entries followed by:

MarkHollis_0-1680192729196.png

This means nothing to me so I'm hoping it means something to someone on here.

Not sure if you need this but too:

MarkHollis_0-1680192542245.png

Nothing has changed internally with setup etc. All lights on the router are off when this happens, and it goes through it's cycle of coming back on again. 

I need to have more confidence in my broadband solution as I work from home, but at the moment I'm not feeling it.

Thanks in advance. 

Many thanks, Mark

All Replies

This message was authored by jamesn123 This message was authored by: jamesn123

Re: Broadband keeps dropping out with "syslog: ptm0.1 - WAN link DOWN"

Posted by a Superuser, not a Sky employee. Find out more

@Mark+Hollis