Discussion topic: Sky Q mini box losing internet connection - TP Link Deco XE75 Pro

This message was authored by RPJ1 This message was authored by: RPJ1

Sky Q mini box losing internet connection - TP Link Deco XE75 Pro

Hi,

For the last month or so our Sky Q mini box has been losing it's wirless internet connection more or less daily which means we are constantly resetting the connection. Our main Sky Q box which also works by Wi-Fi and is connected to a Deco works fine.

We are BT Internet customers (500 Mbps Full Fibre) and have a TP Link Deco XE75 Pro mesh system for our Wi-Fi.

I have been in contact with the TP Link help desk who are trying to help me resolve this issue and their latest suggestion is to switch off the 5Ghz frequency in the main Sky Q box as they think our Sky Q mini box is connected to the Deco Wi-Fi and the main Sky Q box simultaneously. 

I'm not an IT expert but I thought they have to be connected via their own internal mesh Wi-Fi system (which is the 5GHz network) in order that we can watch television on the mini box and be able to access our recordings which are saved to the Sky Q main box’s hard-drive etc.

If I were to switch the 5GHz network off, surely they wouldn't connect to each other?

I would appreciate some guidance and advice on this please.

Thank you.

All Replies

This message was authored by oldfella This message was authored by: oldfella

Re: Sky Q mini box losing internet connection - TP Link Deco XE75 Pro

Posted by a Superuser, not a Sky employee. Find out more

Hi @RPJ1 

Turning off the Main Q box 5 Ghz isa simple task and can be switched back on if it doesn't help.

Personally if possible I would connect both Q boxes by Ethernet to your mesh nodes.

You could then turn off all Q box WiFi.

If this is possible post back and I can give more expanded advice.

RPJ1
Topic Author

Hi @oldfella 

Thanks for the post. If I wish to try turning off the 5GHz on my main Sky Q box how would I do that?