Discussion topic: Using a TP Link Mesh system

This message was authored by RenuandPaul This message was authored by: RenuandPaul

Using a TP Link Mesh system

Hi - I have Sky Broadband, c/w the Sky provided router. WiFi coverage is poor (even with the 'boost' service addition).

I also now have a new TP Link Deco M9 mesh system - three discs. I would like to use them with this router, but apparently I cannot, as I cannot switch the Sky router into modem mode.

I don't have SK TV or phone - just Broadband. 

Is there a workaround where I can use my mesh discs? I am not a techie, but can follow guidance 🙂

I know that I need to ethernet cable one of the 3 discs to the Sky router, and then place the others around the house, but will I end up with wifi conflicts between the sky router and my mesh system trying to broadcast wifi at thesame time - can i some how turn off the wif output from the sky router?

Thanks

Paul 

Best Answers
This message was authored by MattA This message was authored by: MattA Answer

Re: Using a TP Link Mesh system

If you configure the TP-Link devices to operate in access point mode rather than router mode and disable WIFI on the SKy Router the TP-Link devices will work as intended.

View this Answer within the discussion

All Replies

This message was authored by MattA This message was authored by: MattA Answer

If you configure the TP-Link devices to operate in access point mode rather than router mode and disable WIFI on the SKy Router the TP-Link devices will work as intended.

RenuandPaul
Topic Author
This message was authored by RenuandPaul This message was authored by: RenuandPaul

Many thanks Matt. I will give that a go. I can't seem to find a login for my Sky router though - I can find the landing page 182.168.0.1 but no prompt to enter login / password. Just a summary status with options all of which are not available as I haven't logged in....

RenuandPaul
Topic Author