Discussion topic: Poor signal no 5G

This message was authored by Hutch This message was authored by: Hutch

Poor signal no 5G

Hi there, I've been using Sky mobile for well over 12 months now, Samsung galaxy S22 Ultra 5G contract. I've found it to be the worse provider I've ever had, signal is awful, never seen it connect to 5G anywhere in the UK. I can be sat in the car next to my Son, (he's on a different network provider), he has a full 5G signal whereas I haven't even got 4G signal. I've received a new sim, I've updated and followed all help guides and still it's shocking. What shall I do now? I know Sky has a 5G signal in my general area but I am wondering why I pay a vast amount of money monthly for a horrendous coverage?

All Replies

This message was authored by Jynxy This message was authored by: Jynxy

Re: Poor signal no 5G

Posted by a Superuser, not a Sky employee. Find out more

Have you checked your phone settings to see if 5g is enabled, you will also need to make sure its enabled on your account in the mobile section, then going onto your plan.

You can also check the 5g coverage in your area here.

https://www.sky.com/shop/mobile/coverage-checker 

Sky Superuser - If i have helped you please mark as solution to help others. Thanks
1x Sky Q Silver - 1x Sky Q Mini - 1x Sky Q Hub SR203 - SKY Fibre Superfast - 2 x Sky mobiles
Hutch
Topic Author

Hi there, thank you ever so much for your reply, I have indeed checked that the phone settings have been 5G enabled and checked the area coverage. Still really poor signal in most areas, don't get me wrong, it works fine on WiFi but soon as you're in normal phone signal range it's really poor.

I genuinely have never seen 5G on my phone, why pay for a 5G phone and contract if the signal is so bad?

My last provider was bad but but still better than this, the sooner this contract is up the better imo. 

This message was authored by Jynxy This message was authored by: Jynxy