Discussion topic: Sky Go app cannot find Sky Q box

This message was authored by Roo1 This message was authored by: Roo1

Sky Go app cannot find Sky Q box

I have a multi screen subscription but the Sky Go app cannot find my Sky Q box so I cannot access recordings or the remote control feature. I have deleted and re-downloaded the app but no success.

can anyone please help?

All Replies

This message was authored by caesarome This message was authored by: caesarome

Re: Sky Go app cannot find Sky Q box

Posted by a Superuser, not a Sky employee. Find out more

Is the option turned on in both the settings of the app and the Sky Go box ?

Are they both on the same Wifi network ?

__________________________________________________________________________________________
If someone has helped you then please click on the LIKES button in their post.
If you need help please provide as much information as you can
Roo1
Topic Author

Thanks for that reply which triggered me to work out what is going on. Although I have an expensive mesh network the sky Q box was still not talking to the sky mini in the cinema room so the Sky engineer guy gave up trying to sort it even after switching out the boxes. So I now have a Sky Q and one mini box hardwired with a Sky booster box creating a Sky only network to the mini box upstairs.
If I hook up my iPad to the LAN the remote feature and recordings appear on the app...but as I don't have the password for the sky booster network I cannot join that network (on the occasion I might need to wirelessly access my recordings or if I cant find the remote). I am loath to reset the sky booster in case I lose functionality upstairs. 

Roo1
Topic Author

...this also explains why i can only see one of my 3 apple tv boxes on the control centre apple remote on my phone as two are hard wired also! 
Your simple reply was very helpful as it made me go back to basics to work it out!!