Discussion topic: very strange problem

This message was authored by satmankilkeel This message was authored by: satmankilkeel

very strange problem

I have been installing sky digital for over 25 years and never have I had this problem occur before. I have a customer who had a rotten dish by the seaside and showing no satellite signal so we agreed for me to change the dish to a new one.. I did this and my meter eas showing striong results from his pole installation. I went to reconnect his sky + hd box for fta channels and it was saying no satellite signal being received along with tyour box is still initilising please return in a few minutes for this featue. I put my meter on the cable inside the caravan and it showed clearly there was a signal. I then came back and pit a sky + box in place and a technomate reciver and all showing no signal. I then opted for the idea of running a cable from another satellite dish across from their caravan and although it was quitee a long run of cable it showed up with a signal  on the sky boxes. I  came to the conclusion that there was a cable issue so we agreed for me to install new cable to the dish. I did this and upon connecting to the stb low and behold the same thing no signal. I decided to change the lnb to a new quad not a sky q type lnb just a standard quad. same thing no signal. I did a software update still no satellite signal being received. I check ed the satellite signal again with my meter and even reinforced the pole installation but still nothing. I wonder can anyone figure this one out for me cheers

All Replies

This message was authored by Mark39 This message was authored by: Mark39

Re: very strange problem

Posted by a Superuser, not a Sky employee. Find out more