Discussion topic: YouTube on Sky Q "loading" after pausing..

This message was authored by Laing1 This message was authored by: Laing1

Re: YouTube on Sky Q "loading" after pausing..

Posted by a Superuser, not a Sky employee. Find out more

@Chodley wrote:

I have a Comp Sci degree and have worked for software companies my whole career and I have no idea what "forcing something to memory" means.

There's clearly some horrible bug in the way that the Sky Youtube app manages and attempts to resume the network stream after pausing though.

@Chodley but again it strangely isn't affecting everyone 

I may be a Sky Superuser but I am still just a Sky customer

Sky Q 2 TB (Silver)Box, 2 Mini boxes since June 2016, all connected by wifi
Sky Broadband Hub/SR203, Sky Ultrafast broadband
Ultimate on Demand, Q Experience/UHD, Sky Sports, Sky Cinema
LG 49SJ 810 V UHD TV, Google Pixel 7 Pro mobile
This message was authored by Chodley This message was authored by: Chodley

@Laing1 wrote:

@Chodley wrote:

I have a Comp Sci degree and have worked for software companies my whole career and I have no idea what "forcing something to memory" means.

There's clearly some horrible bug in the way that the Sky Youtube app manages and attempts to resume the network stream after pausing though.

@Chodley but again it strangely isn't affecting everyone 

Yeah although this one definitely affects my box too, unlike the Netflix one.

This message was authored by Chloe-W22 This message was authored by: Chloe-W22

Posted by a Sky employee

Hi all,

I wanted to revisit this thread as there are multiple issues being reported that I wanted to get clarification on.

The Community team previously raised an issue where you told us after pausing a video and then pressing play the video will play for around 5-10 seconds and then freezes with the OSM ‘Loading…’, this was investigated by our support teams and fixed.