Reply

Sky q problems

Runner
Posts: 4
Post 1 of 9
1,744 Views

Sky q problems

I have been having terrible problems with WiFi - suspected that it is when my devices were connected to the Q box as a booster rather than getting signal direct from sky q router as when I am close to the router it’s always been fine. 

 

When end I had problems, Speedtest shows 30-35ghz which is great, but for example websites would time out loading.

 

sky q customer service sent me a new router (which I was suspicious was not the issue at all!)

 

since installing Ing the new router, I have been getting the ‘connectivity problem’ message on my mini box - which is literally on top of the router and only 1 room away from the main q box.

 

both boxes are connected by WiFi not Ethernet

 

to top it all off I still have internet problems when connected via the q box! 

 

very frustrated and any help appreciated!

 

seriously regretting leaving talktalk

Thanks!
All Replies
Reply
Oracle
Posts: 10,360
Post 2 of 9
1,686 Views

Re: Sky q problems

Hi @Mtb1 welcome to the forum. These kind of connectivity issues can be difficult to solve and requires some detective work.

 

First suggestion is to post your hub's stats as explained in this post. They will help forum regulars eliminate issues outside your home.

 

Next suggestion is to think about what has changed since the install in particular have you got any wireless equipment like speakers or security cameras as your issue sounds like interference this can easily be tested by switching off anything you think might be the cause. As an example some Sonos kit uses the same frequency the Q boxes use for their backhaul which is ch36 in the 5MHz band this can be sorted by changing the boxes to use ch44. These days loads of kit can cause problems from DECT phones close to the hub or even dodgy microwaves.

 

Alternatively have you moved the hub so that its signals could be being blocked by anything metal? Wifi signals are blocked by metal so putting the hub behind a tv is never a good idea.

 

You can ask Sky to attend especially if the Q mini is not working properly, they have a team of specialist network engineers who can usually find the issue.

==========================


Oracles are customers and people too.
Oracle
Posts: 5,259
Post 3 of 9
1,680 Views

Re: Sky q problems


@Mtb1 wrote:

 

since installing Ing the new router, I have been getting the ‘connectivity problem’ message on my mini box - which is literally on top of the router and only 1 room away from the main q box.

 


If the Mini is actually stacked on the router, I would suggest moving it: that's effectively creating a radio shield from remote devices, and isn't optimal for the local connection either. If they could go side by side with a bit of separation that would be better, and you should also consider running an ethernet lead between them.

* * * * * * *

Sky Q from April 2016 (Silver & 1 Mini, both over ethernet), BT ADSL (14Mbs), BT Home Hub 6 (ethernet), Lenovo Tab 2 A7 (Android 4.4 KitKat), Wileyfox Swift (Android 7.1.2 Nougat), LG 49UJ701V with Yamaha RX-V375, Toshiba 32L6353, Samsung UE22F5400
Anonymous
Not applicable
Posts: 0
Post 4 of 9
1,668 Views

Re: Sky q problems


@TimmyBGood wrote:

@Mtb1 wrote:

 

since installing Ing the new router, I have been getting the ‘connectivity problem’ message on my mini box - which is literally on top of the router and only 1 room away from the main q box.

 


If the Mini is actually stacked on the router, I would suggest moving it: that's effectively creating a radio shield from remote devices, and isn't optimal for the local connection either. If they could go side by side with a bit of separation that would be better, and you should also consider running an ethernet lead between them.


Indeed I also picked up on that one and was going to suggest the same.

Runner
Posts: 4
Post 5 of 9
1,488 Views

Re: Sky q problems

Thanks guys,

 

been RN away for a few days and since coming back I have moved both boxes and swore Ates them and so far WiFi seems to be working perfectly all over the house - so far at least!!

 

if I have further problems I’ll post the router log

Thanks!
Runner
Posts: 4
Post 6 of 9
1,229 Views

Re: Sky q problems

Spoke too soon when I thought the problem was solved!

 

i still have terrible internet connection when I am nearer to the sky q box than the router.

 

also it seems that I lose WiFi entirely for a couple of hours during the night.

 

log below and any tips gratefully received 

Router Statistics
System Up Time: 222:22:42
Port
Status
TxPkts
RxPkts
Collision Pkts
Tx b/s
Rx b/s
Up Time
WAN
MER
47518986
108654712
0
29101
33061
222:20:51
LAN
Up
4633475
351900
26681
12703
372
222:22:42
WLAN (2.4 GHz)
Up
6781841
2378324
0
11858
366
222:21:10
WLAN (5 GHz)
Up
120493020
53313972
0
0
0
222:21:09
Broadband Link
Downstream
Upstream
Connection Speed
40000 kbps
9997 kbps
Line Attenuation
17.5 dB
19.5 dB
Noise Margin
14.8 dB
14.14 d

 

Thanks!
Oracle
Posts: 10,360
Post 7 of 9
1,179 Views

Re: Sky q problems

Hi @Mtb1 pretty difficult to read those stas as formatting lost but think you have a line fault as your noise margin is 14.8dB against the normal level of 6dB or lower for a fibre line. Try running Sky's broadband checker in the My Sky app and suspect it will agree with my diagnosis. Give Sky a call as you need an engineer to fix the line. 

==========================


Oracles are customers and people too.
Camera Assistant
Posts: 229
Post 8 of 9
1,159 Views

Re: Sky q problems

@Mtb1@Chriseelooking at this I guess you have a Sky 36Mbs package so router is syncing at 40Mbs with a very high noise margin which is good, does not look a problem to me. Guess problem is in Wi-Fi not broadband connection.

==================================
Sky Q 2TBv2 4xSkyQ Mini
TV Samsung QE65Q7FAMTXXU, Amp Denon AVR-X3400H, Remote Logitech Harmony Elite
Router DrayTek 2860ac, LAN & Wi-Fi Unifi
BT Infinity

For ever complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat and wrong.
Runner
Posts: 4
Post 9 of 9
1,141 Views

Re: Sky q problems

Pretty sure it isn’t a broadband problem, as internet is fine with 36g regularly when nearer to the router, but less than 10g down and 0.5g up if I’m nearer to the sky q box and further from the router 

 

also, sky have already replaced the router once so I suspect it is the setup and the way the sky q and mini box act as boosters but to be fair am pretty far from being an expert

Thanks!
Reply
Recommended Threads
09-08-2018 07:47 PM
Zoeelouisee 23-07-2018 03:34 PM
Friday 07:18 PM
13-10-2018 08:54 AM
2 weeks ago 09:29 AM