Reply

Q no sat signal new t.v. Cabinet

Answered
Go to Answer
Highlighted
Editor
Posts: 673
Post 1 of 52
642 Views

Q no sat signal new t.v. Cabinet

Thought I was doing well lifting my 43" 4k sony off from previous glass t.v. Cabinet

Disconnecting t.v. Q router+apple t.v. Cables.

Re connected all devices enclosed in oak furntiture land t.v. Unit .

Gutted I struggled re connecting dish input 1+2

Nss on powering up q

Called sky engineer book next Monday 

Re tried and managed to get a piece of dish input cable showing and re connected-only just.

Have a pic on the channs that I've viewed since -recordings work.

Only concerns is sys info states lock indicator not locked 0 strength 0 quality.

Yet my picture continues to work.

Shall I allow engineer to visit next Monday or cancel and hope for the best

Answer

Best Answers
Answer
Oracle
Posts: 10,466
Post 2 of 52
1,174 Views

Re: Q no sat signal new t.v. Cabinet


@Donfor wrote:

Thought I was doing well lifting my 43" 4k sony off from previous glass t.v. Cabinet

Disconnecting t.v. Q router+apple t.v. Cables.

Re connected all devices enclosed in oak furntiture land t.v. Unit .

Gutted I struggled re connecting dish input 1+2

Nss on powering up q

Called sky engineer book next Monday 

Re tried and managed to get a piece of dish input cable showing and re connected-only just.

Have a pic on the channs that I've viewed since -recordings work.

Only concerns is sys info states lock indicator not locked 0 strength 0 quality.

Yet my picture continues to work.

Shall I allow engineer to visit next Monday or cancel and hope for the best


Hi @Donfor

Are you sure that the central conductor in the two F connectors are not bent ?

All Replies
Reply
Answer
Oracle
Posts: 10,466
Post 2 of 52
1,175 Views

Re: Q no sat signal new t.v. Cabinet


@Donfor wrote:

Thought I was doing well lifting my 43" 4k sony off from previous glass t.v. Cabinet

Disconnecting t.v. Q router+apple t.v. Cables.

Re connected all devices enclosed in oak furntiture land t.v. Unit .

Gutted I struggled re connecting dish input 1+2

Nss on powering up q

Called sky engineer book next Monday 

Re tried and managed to get a piece of dish input cable showing and re connected-only just.

Have a pic on the channs that I've viewed since -recordings work.

Only concerns is sys info states lock indicator not locked 0 strength 0 quality.

Yet my picture continues to work.

Shall I allow engineer to visit next Monday or cancel and hope for the best


Hi @Donfor

Are you sure that the central conductor in the two F connectors are not bent ?

Executive Producer
Posts: 3,795
Post 3 of 52
604 Views

Re: Q no sat signal new t.v. Cabinet

Check the coax connections, it is so easy to bend/break the inner conductor, if you need to reterminate the coax look on YouTube for a video on F type connectors.

The ones used by Sky are usually crimped ones which can't be reused but screw on ones are cheap and widly available.

Editor
Posts: 673
Post 4 of 52
581 Views

Re: Q no sat signal new t.v. Cabinet

Thanks all replies

Don't think I've much cable left over from my input 1 repairs.

3 rd attempt,  seems to be working.only started again as I wasn't getting Eurosport 

Since getting 50/90 much improved.

Think I'll watch over next evening or two and cancel engineer if no longer required.

Thanks for the cable dish  input f connector tips-that was what I was struggling with.

Lovely cabinet though very little room to manover at least by hand.

Thankfully no cables at all are in view which is why I've replaced my previous glass cabinet.

Nice to be viewing.

Are service calls chargeable after 1st year or if I'm at fault what's the cost these days

Editor
Posts: 673
Post 5 of 52
574 Views

Re: Q no sat signal new t.v. Cabinet

253195E8-BD86-4CD9-A71D-4C5969EBCB75.jpeg

Oracle
Posts: 10,466
Post 6 of 52
571 Views

Re: Q no sat signal new t.v. Cabinet


@Donfor wrote:

Thanks all replies

Don't think I've much cable left over from my input 1 repairs.

3 rd attempt,  seems to be working.only started again as I wasn't getting Eurosport 

Since getting 50/90 much improved.

Think I'll watch over next evening or two and cancel engineer if no longer required.

Thanks for the cable dish  input f connector tips-that was what I was struggling with.

Lovely cabinet though very little room to manover at least by hand.

Thankfully no cables at all are in view which is why I've replaced my previous glass cabinet.

Nice to be viewing.

Are service calls chargeable after 1st year or if I'm at fault what's the cost these days


Hi @Donfor

An engineers visit would not be chargeable as upkeep is Sky’s responsibity for the life of your contract.

 

Mechanical damage is excluded😉😉

Oracle
Posts: 10,466
Post 7 of 52
560 Views

Re: Q no sat signal new t.v. Cabinet

Hi @Donfor

The dish and cables are your responsibility after 12 months but I suspect that any fault with F connectors would be undertaken by engineer

Editor
Posts: 673
Post 8 of 52
541 Views

Re: Q no sat signal new t.v. Cabinet

As it was my fault, is there no longer a chargeable call or is it self repair if possible,

Only asking for future reference q+mini have been exceptionally reliable.

I have the glass cabinet to remove and re cycle-thankfully no more entertainment units, unless I find a small table for my printer.

Oracle
Posts: 10,466
Post 9 of 52
525 Views

Re: Q no sat signal new t.v. Cabinet


@Donfor wrote:

As it was my fault, is there no longer a chargeable call or is it self repair if possible,

Only asking for future reference q+mini have been exceptionally reliable.

I have the glass cabinet to remove and re cycle-thankfully no more entertainment units, unless I find a small table for my printer.


Hi @Donfor

I think there is a £65 engineer charge if it is ever applied.    Haven’t seen anyone on the Q forum where a charge has been made but I suppose it may happen.  

 

I have installed most of my F connectors and if the worst comes to the worst you could add an F connector joiner and use a small extension to give a bit more cable.   One correctly made joint shouldn’t hurt.   

Director of Photography
Posts: 1,881
Post 10 of 52
452 Views

Re: Q no sat signal new t.v. Cabinet

In your photo you have the broadband router on top of the Sky Q box, for reliability I would move the router somewhere else to keep top of Q box clear.

First Assistant Director
Posts: 2,335
Post 11 of 52
447 Views

Re: Q no sat signal new t.v. Cabinet

As @GordonTGopher has said, you shouldn’t have anything on top of your Q TV box 

BT Ultra Infinity. Apple Time Capsule. Sky Q 2TB watching UHD through a LG OLED55B7 and listening through a soundbox. Multiroom with 2 miniboxes
Editor
Posts: 673
Post 12 of 52
422 Views

Re: Q no sat signal new t.v. Cabinet

I have Sky fibre router+Apple 4k t.v. Om top of q.

Rather than top of t.v. Unit.

Only other option requires drilling into display cabinet for both devices.

Could purchase a drill+exceptionally long Ethernet cable+hdmis cables.

I'll continue as is for some time, there is ample room inside top of shelf for some air flow from above.

Director of Photography
Posts: 1,881
Post 13 of 52
417 Views

Re: Q no sat signal new t.v. Cabinet


@Donfor wrote:

I have Sky fibre router+Apple 4k t.v. Om top of q.

Rather than top of t.v. Unit.

Only other option requires drilling into display cabinet for both devices.

Could purchase a drill+exceptionally long Ethernet cable+hdmis cables.

I'll continue as is for some time, there is ample room inside top of shelf for some air flow from above.


There is no air flow in these sort of furniture units as is ultimately a box with one side open.

 

The Q box box will heat up the router and the router will heat up the Q box. Vicious circle. 

Editor
Posts: 673
Post 14 of 52
415 Views

Re: Q no sat signal new t.v. Cabinet

Piece of dish input cable which didn't make it

FE662CD7-2CB3-4959-8789-FDBD1C8839E6.jpeg

Editor
Posts: 673
Post 15 of 52
406 Views

Re: Q no sat signal new t.v. Cabinet

There is quite a roomy hole for cabling behind devices-not self drilled which is part of unit which is allowing some airflow.

I have no concerns at this time other than the rediculously short dish input 1 cable.

Reply
Recommended Threads
26-04-2018 02:48 AM
04-06-2018 08:31 PM
21-04-2018 08:43 AM
22-03-2018 07:20 PM
30-03-2018 07:06 PM