Reply

Mini box picture freezing

Runner
Posts: 3
Post 1 of 8
533 Views

Mini box picture freezing

Hi, 

Our main Q box is on a BT power line adapter and the mini box is on an Ethernet cable direct from the router. There appears to be a very good network connection on both.

However when watching live tv on the mini the picture and sound keeps freezing and eventually it tells me the mini has lost connection to the Q box. Please could someone tell me how the mini box receives it’s picture signal ? Is it through the Ethernet cable or wirelessly from the main box ? 

Cheers

Hi !
All Replies
Reply
Oracle
Posts: 8,391
Post 2 of 8
523 Views

Re: Mini box picture freezing

@Hosburger If you have the minis connected by ethernet it is advised to disable their wifi. Go to settings enter 0,0,1 select to get into the installers menu where the settings are and turn off both wave bands. That should stabilise the system.

==========================


Oracles are customers and people too.
Runner
Posts: 3
Post 3 of 8
514 Views

Re: Mini box picture freezing

Thanks for the reply. I have already turned the WiFi off on both mini and main box , also the power line option 

Hi !
Runner
Posts: 3
Post 4 of 8
476 Views

Re: Mini box picture freezing

So thought everything had settled down but now noticed that on  Settings - Status the connection to internet is intermittent. Alternates from x to tick approx every 5 seconds . The connection to router is fine 

 

Hi !
Oracle
Posts: 8,391
Post 5 of 8
435 Views

Re: Mini box picture freezing

@Hosburger The no internet warning is confusing as what it means is something is blocking the box from contacting Sky's servers not that the box cannot see the whole internet so whilst downloading is blocked the Spotify app will work. This can be caused by a router firewall rule, commonly BT's Smart Setup is the cause but there are others so who is your isp and what router do you have?

==========================


Oracles are customers and people too.
Runner
Posts: 1
Post 6 of 8
191 Views

Re: Mini box picture freezing

Hi,

 

I am also experiencing the same problem, my main sky q box is connected via Ethernet from my BT smart hub and both my mini boxes are connected to the main box wirelessly. I’m getting sound distorting and picture freezing when it’s connected like this. I’ve checked by using another Ethernet cable to make sure the problem is not the cable and it clearly is not.

 

Ive noticed when I connect the main box wirelessly this problem is resolved. What is the reason for this can someone help please?

 

i would prefer my sky q box to be wired via Ethernet as i have over 15 devices on WiFi and its slowing the connection down.

Managing Editor
Posts: 882
Post 7 of 8
179 Views

Re: Mini box picture freezing


@Kal84 wrote:

Hi,

 

I am also experiencing the same problem, my main sky q box is connected via Ethernet from my BT smart hub and both my mini boxes are connected to the main box wirelessly. I’m getting sound distorting and picture freezing when it’s connected like this. I’ve checked by using another Ethernet cable to make sure the problem is not the cable and it clearly is not.

 

Ive noticed when I connect the main box wirelessly this problem is resolved. What is the reason for this can someone help please?

 

i would prefer my sky q box to be wired via Ethernet as i have over 15 devices on WiFi and its slowing the connection down.


Hi welcome to the forum, Have you tried rebooting your main SKYQ box by turning power off for 30 sec then reconnect?

Oracle
Posts: 8,391
Post 8 of 8
167 Views

Re: Mini box picture freezing

@Kal84 The way you have your boxes connected is correct so should not cause problems unless the wifi from the main box to the nearest mini is too weak - the minis will connect to the mainbox and each other.

 

One suggestion the Q boxes mainly communicate using the 5GHz channel 36 which by default is the channel most BT home hubs use. You may find it helps to keep the two wifi networks on different channels. On the Q main box go to settings but enter 0,0,1 then select to get into a hidden menu and change the 5GHZ wifi to ch44 40MHz and confirm. That should shift te 2 minis as well if it doesnt do the same on each of them. Lastly on your home hub ensure it is using ch36. 

 

If that doesnt work then talk to Sky as you may need a booster.

==========================


Oracles are customers and people too.
Reply
Recommended Threads
04-02-2018 09:40 PM
27-05-2018 10:25 AM
13-04-2018 09:38 AM
15-04-2018 09:04 AM
3 weeks ago 11:54 AM