Reply

How to get sky q on laptop

Answered
Go to Answer
Highlighted
New Viewer
Posts: 1
Post 1 of 15
6,492 Views

How to get sky q on laptop

How do you get sky q on laptop running window 10 and Microsoft edge 

Answer

Best Answers
Answer
Oracle
Posts: 10,466
Post 2 of 15
12,791 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop


@Et1987 wrote:

How do you get sky q on laptop running window 10 and Microsoft edge 


Hi @Et1987

Welcome to Q forum.

 

Not possible I’m afraid.  Tablets and Mobiles only for Q app

All Replies
Reply
Answer
Oracle
Posts: 10,466
Post 2 of 15
12,792 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop


@Et1987 wrote:

How do you get sky q on laptop running window 10 and Microsoft edge 


Hi @Et1987

Welcome to Q forum.

 

Not possible I’m afraid.  Tablets and Mobiles only for Q app

Production Supervisor
Posts: 1,302
Post 3 of 15
6,428 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop


@Et1987wrote:

How do you get sky q on laptop running window 10 and Microsoft edge 


I think the Sky Go app still works for Windows, but that's as close as you'll get.... 

Producer
Posts: 3,494
Post 4 of 15
6,417 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop

If you’re up for a challenge, and your PC is powerful enough, you can get the Sky Q app to run in the NOX Android emulator.

Production Supervisor
Posts: 1,302
Post 5 of 15
6,414 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop

@tarbat, come on, you know you're not allowed to make stuff up. 

Producer
Posts: 3,494
Post 6 of 15
6,320 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop

It's easy to setup, and as long as your PC is powerful enough, video playback is good. You have to use the Bridged Network in NOX to get it working on the local network, and it runs in portrait mode for all the menus, etc., although you can switch to landscape for video playback.

1.jpg2.jpg

Production Supervisor
Posts: 1,377
Post 7 of 15
6,297 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop


@Rhonnywrote:

@Et1987wrote:

How do you get sky q on laptop running window 10 and Microsoft edge 


I think the Sky Go app still works for Windows, but that's as close as you'll get.... 


@Rhonny

In my case it doesn't.  It's awful on my win 10 desktop and quite simply does't work.  I'm told to download the new windows desktop player.  Try to use it and............................... I'm told to download the new desktop player!!

See post #93 here:

https://helpforum.sky.com/t5/Sky-Go-Apps/New-Win-10-sky-go-app/td-p/2775582/page/7

Producer
Posts: 3,494
Post 8 of 15
6,273 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop


@Rhonnywrote:

@tarbat, come on, you know you're not allowed to make stuff up. 


I was just trying to help @Et1987 get Sky Q running on a Windows 10 laptop. As long as you use Bridged Network in NOX, it works well on local network connection to main Sky Q box.

1.jpg

Production Supervisor
Posts: 1,377
Post 9 of 15
6,262 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop


@tarbatwrote:

@Rhonnywrote:

@tarbat, come on, you know you're not allowed to make stuff up. 


I was just trying to help @Et1987 get Sky Q running on a Windows 10 laptop. As long as you use Bridged Network in NOX, it works well on local network connection to main Sky Q box.

1.jpg


But why is all that necessary?  Surely it should just work?

Producer
Posts: 3,494
Post 10 of 15
6,250 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop


@Morgan+McDonnellwrote:

But why is all that necessary?  Surely it should just work?


Because Sky don't provide a Sky Q app for Windows. Using NOX is better than nothing, and it only takes a few minutes to setup.

Oracle
Posts: 4,196
Post 11 of 15
6,238 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop


@Morgan+McDonnell wrote:

But why is all that necessary?  Surely it should just work?


 

Successfully streaming DRM'd video from a proprietary box to a closed-source commercial Android app inside a free 'droid emulator on top of the festering pile of ordure that is Windows 10?  It's a minor miracle ; )

Sky Q from April 2016 (Silver & 1 Mini, both over ethernet) Multiscreen, Cinema, Sports, Box Sets, Yamaha RX-V375, BT Home Hub 6 (ethernet), BT ADSL (17Mbs), Lenovo Tab 2 A7 (Android 4.4 KitKat), Wileyfox Swift (Android 7.1.2 Nougat), LG 49UJ701V, Toshiba 32L6353, Samsung UE22F5400
Editor
Posts: 711
Post 12 of 15
6,188 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop

“But why is all that necessary?  Surely it should just work?“

 

When did modern technology “just work”?

Microsoft are still trying to a develop a bug free,  stable operating system after 33 years! 

So what chance have Sky got? 

Boom Operator
Posts: 15
Post 13 of 15
1,049 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop

Thats Brilliant - got it working on both a MS Surface Pro 4 and a MS Surface 3 tablet in afew minutes just as soon as I found the Bridge Networks setting in Nox.

 

Shhhh - Dont Tell Sky!!

Executive Producer
Posts: 3,795
Post 14 of 15
1,045 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop


@Pav99 wrote:

Thats Brilliant - got it working on both a MS Surface Pro 4 and a MS Surface 3 tablet in afew minutes just as soon as I found the Bridge Networks setting in Nox.

 

Shhhh - Dont Tell Sky!!


My surface 3 tablet will not cope with it.

Boom Operator
Posts: 15
Post 15 of 15
1,026 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop

Sorry to hear you're not getting such good results from this. In my brief test last night it runs very well on the Surface Pro 4 and also installed and ran on my sons Surface 3. The Find Channels and other menus scroll v slowly on the S3 and there was noticable speech syncing issues - otherwise it was usable.

 

I do have V strong 5 Ghz Wifi and Cable 360Mbit Broadband in the house so no limiting factors there

Reply