Reply

How to get sky q on laptop

Answered
Go to Answer
Highlighted
New Viewer
Posts: 1
Post 1 of 40
22,695 Views

How to get sky q on laptop

How do you get sky q on laptop running window 10 and Microsoft edge 

Answer

Best Answers
Answer
Oracle
Posts: 12,597
Post 2 of 40
37,182 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop


@Et1987 wrote:

How do you get sky q on laptop running window 10 and Microsoft edge 


Hi @Et1987

Welcome to Q forum.

 

Not possible I’m afraid.  Tablets and Mobiles only for Q app

All Replies
Reply
Answer
Oracle
Posts: 12,597
Post 2 of 40
37,183 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop


@Et1987 wrote:

How do you get sky q on laptop running window 10 and Microsoft edge 


Hi @Et1987

Welcome to Q forum.

 

Not possible I’m afraid.  Tablets and Mobiles only for Q app

Production Supervisor
Posts: 1,302
Post 3 of 40
22,632 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop


@Et1987wrote:

How do you get sky q on laptop running window 10 and Microsoft edge 


I think the Sky Go app still works for Windows, but that's as close as you'll get.... 

Executive Producer
Posts: 3,894
Post 4 of 40
22,622 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop

If you’re up for a challenge, and your PC is powerful enough, you can get the Sky Q app to run in the NOX Android emulator.

Production Supervisor
Posts: 1,302
Post 5 of 40
22,619 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop

@tarbat, come on, you know you're not allowed to make stuff up. 

Executive Producer
Posts: 3,894
Post 6 of 40
22,526 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop

It's easy to setup, and as long as your PC is powerful enough, video playback is good. You have to use the Bridged Network in NOX to get it working on the local network, and it runs in portrait mode for all the menus, etc., although you can switch to landscape for video playback.

1.jpg2.jpg

Anonymous
Not applicable
Posts: 0
Post 7 of 40
22,503 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop


@Rhonnywrote:

@Et1987wrote:

How do you get sky q on laptop running window 10 and Microsoft edge 


I think the Sky Go app still works for Windows, but that's as close as you'll get.... 


@Rhonny

In my case it doesn't.  It's awful on my win 10 desktop and quite simply does't work.  I'm told to download the new windows desktop player.  Try to use it and............................... I'm told to download the new desktop player!!

See post #93 here:

https://helpforum.sky.com/t5/Sky-Go-Apps/New-Win-10-sky-go-app/td-p/2775582/page/7

Executive Producer
Posts: 3,894
Post 8 of 40
22,479 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop


@Rhonnywrote:

@tarbat, come on, you know you're not allowed to make stuff up. 


I was just trying to help @Et1987 get Sky Q running on a Windows 10 laptop. As long as you use Bridged Network in NOX, it works well on local network connection to main Sky Q box.

1.jpg

Anonymous
Not applicable
Posts: 0
Post 9 of 40
22,468 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop


@tarbatwrote:

@Rhonnywrote:

@tarbat, come on, you know you're not allowed to make stuff up. 


I was just trying to help @Et1987 get Sky Q running on a Windows 10 laptop. As long as you use Bridged Network in NOX, it works well on local network connection to main Sky Q box.

1.jpg


But why is all that necessary?  Surely it should just work?

Executive Producer
Posts: 3,894
Post 10 of 40
22,456 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop


@Anonymouswrote:

But why is all that necessary?  Surely it should just work?


Because Sky don't provide a Sky Q app for Windows. Using NOX is better than nothing, and it only takes a few minutes to setup.

Oracle
Posts: 5,250
Post 11 of 40
22,448 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop


@Anonymous wrote:

But why is all that necessary?  Surely it should just work?


 

Successfully streaming DRM'd video from a proprietary box to a closed-source commercial Android app inside a free 'droid emulator on top of the festering pile of ordure that is Windows 10?  It's a minor miracle ; )

* * * * * * *

Sky Q from April 2016 (Silver & 1 Mini, both over ethernet), BT ADSL (14Mbs), BT Home Hub 6 (ethernet), Lenovo Tab 2 A7 (Android 4.4 KitKat), Wileyfox Swift (Android 7.1.2 Nougat), LG 49UJ701V with Yamaha RX-V375, Toshiba 32L6353, Samsung UE22F5400
Managing Editor
Posts: 849
Post 12 of 40
22,398 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop

“But why is all that necessary?  Surely it should just work?“

 

When did modern technology “just work”?

Microsoft are still trying to a develop a bug free,  stable operating system after 33 years! 

So what chance have Sky got? 

Boom Operator
Posts: 15
Post 13 of 40
17,259 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop

Thats Brilliant - got it working on both a MS Surface Pro 4 and a MS Surface 3 tablet in afew minutes just as soon as I found the Bridge Networks setting in Nox.

 

Shhhh - Dont Tell Sky!!

Executive Producer
Posts: 5,048
Post 14 of 40
17,256 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop


@Pav99 wrote:

Thats Brilliant - got it working on both a MS Surface Pro 4 and a MS Surface 3 tablet in afew minutes just as soon as I found the Bridge Networks setting in Nox.

 

Shhhh - Dont Tell Sky!!


My surface 3 tablet will not cope with it.

Boom Operator
Posts: 15
Post 15 of 40
17,237 Views

Re: How to get sky q on laptop

Sorry to hear you're not getting such good results from this. In my brief test last night it runs very well on the Surface Pro 4 and also installed and ran on my sons Surface 3. The Find Channels and other menus scroll v slowly on the S3 and there was noticable speech syncing issues - otherwise it was usable.

 

I do have V strong 5 Ghz Wifi and Cable 360Mbit Broadband in the house so no limiting factors there

Reply