Discussion topic: Setting up ASUS RT-AX88U

This message was authored by Cathydb This message was authored by: Cathydb

Setting up ASUS RT-AX88U

Hello all,

I'm a relative novice when it comes to tech so fair warning! I recently purchased an ASUS RT-AX88U, thinking i could run my Sky Hub in modem mode, however it turns out this isn't possible on Sky (Aware I should have checked pre-purchase!)

Am I right in saying that I will need to purchase a VDSL2 modem (I dont really want to fork out for a Draytech Vigor, are there any suitable budget options if this is required?) and then flash the router with Merlin? Running the ASUS from the hub isnt feasible as it will create NAT issues.

Kind regards

All Replies

This message was authored by Chrisee This message was authored by: Chrisee

Re: Setting up ASUS RT-AX88U

Posted by a Superuser, not a Sky employee. Find out more

@Cathydb there are no cheap dsl modems around as most people buy a combined modem router to connect to Sky Superfast. The only other one I know of is the old Openreach HG612 but these are getting quite old and good ones will cost not much less than the Draytek any being offered cheaply may have issues. As it happens recent posts indicate Asus now include the settings to connect to Sky's services in their latest firmware so you msy not need to go the Merlin firmware route if you dont want to.

It is worth trying the Double NAT setup, if you haven't already,. with the Sky hub as it works for most apps.  It only usually causes issues if you use a business VPN or game on shared servers.

=========================================================
65inch Sky Glass, 3 Sky Streaming Pucks, Sky Ultrafast + and Sky SR213(white Wifi Max hub) main Wifi from 3 TP-Link Deco M4 units in access point mode
Cathydb
Topic Author