Discussion topic: My Broadband has been down for almost a week

This message was authored by Kagu This message was authored by: Kagu

My Broadband has been down for almost a week

Hello -  I live near Kingswinford, Westmidlands, UK, and I am currently full-time WFH within a new role. According to Sky themselves, they have "logged" an issue on 1am Monday. It is now currently Thursday, forcing me to use a lot of data with my mobile hotspot, and even this also isn't without challenges such as really bad connection sometimes. 

I understand that things happen and domestic broadband isn't promised to have a 100% uptime, but I feel like almost a week without internet is quite a while, with absolutely no answers, and to top it off - I'm not even unequvically certain that Sky know about the issue, since every avenue on the phone brings me to an automated voice. (I am a Software Engineer by trade so have probably an unhealthy distrust of the backend(y) stuff such as this image below).

Kagu_0-1705570722547.png

Mostly I wanted to post a thread here to get some visibility to maybe ensure Sky is aware of the problem and can resolve this soon.

Thank you for anyone who replies, I appreciate your time.

All Replies

This message was authored by jamesn123 This message was authored by: jamesn123

Re: My Broadband has been down for almost a week

Posted by a Superuser, not a Sky employee. Find out more

@Kagu 

If its a local outage 4 days is quite normal to be down as it can take Openreach a while to re-build infrastructure if something serious has happened like a pole or cabinet being destroyed.

I would however, as you said, make sure Sky certainly know about it. I can escalate your post to chat on the forum if you wish, you may get more answers on there than calling. 

I am NOT a Sky Employee
Myself & Others offer our time to help others, please be respectful.
This message was authored by Daniel0210 This message was authored by: Daniel0210

@Kagu