Reply

"Too many devices" ? How many devices are connected to your router?

Boom Operator
Posts: 14
Post 1 of 60
7,835 Views

"Too many devices" ? How many devices are connected to your router?

Does anyone else have 15+ devices connected? Do you have problems?

 

I've just been told by Sky that our problems are because we have "too many devices connected for your bandwidth (34mb)" and "they'll all be using 3-4mb each, so there's not enough".

 

I argued that most devices are doing nothing - just sending status updated and sometimes updates. We actually aren't heavy internet users. We don't stream video, download or even watch YouTube, etc!

 

I doubt if we even use 5GB per month in bandwidth.

 

Anyhow, I can count 15 and an unnamed device - so there are 16 - but most are IoT.

(Network switch, Skybox [SkyHD], Echo x 2, Phones x 2, Tado, CCTV box, LightwaveRF box, printer, NAS (2 connections), wireless access point, NEST Protect x 2, the sky router itself(?))

 

Annoyingly, we've never had this issue with Sky before, SSE or Plusnet. Maybe it's just a low spec router they give out which? Even then, most of the devices aren't using the internet, or if they do, it's intermittent for updates/status info.

 

== What's the issue? ==

We're experiencing intermitted issues where the LAN Port collision packets spike 1-3 times a day.

Connectivity is fine, apart from when it stops - and there's lots of LAN port collision packets showing.

Disconnecting/reconnecting fixes it.

From my view, it could be it's a dodgy router which either can't cope with "all that traffic" or maybe it can't cope with "so many devices". Or possibly it *could* be a device going mental - but it's intermittent and we've never had this issue with other providers. The only thing that has changed is getting a Sky router.

All Replies
Reply
Boom Operator
Posts: 14
Post 2 of 60
7,828 Views

Re: "Too many devices" ? How many devices are connected to your router?

* As you might guess, we've got a Unifi wireless access point. Everything connects to a high end HP switch. The wireless on the Sky router is turned off. So it's all going via LAN.

Director of Photography
Posts: 1,746
Post 3 of 60
7,758 Views

Re: "Too many devices" ? How many devices are connected to your router?

To get a clearer picture of what is going on, it is probably best if you can post your router's statistics and event log. There is a video guide at the top of the fibre discussions list showing how to do this.

Executive Producer
Posts: 5,263
Post 4 of 60
7,726 Views

Re: "Too many devices" ? How many devices are connected to your router?

As you can see below I have 23 devices on a Sky ER110 router, so not sure what Sky are talking about 15!

 

1 192.168.20.78 UNKNOWN 00:0d:c5:ce:bc:10
2 192.168.20.67 UNKNOWN 00:04:20:fb:66:ca
3 192.168.20.76 UNKNOWN 70:e7:2c:52:f4:94
4 192.168.20.80 UNKNOWN b0:48:1a:c6:a8:81
5 192.168.20.74 UNKNOWN fc:8f:90:32:8b:44
6 192.168.20.2 UNKNOWN 34:12:98:01:24:4e
7 192.168.20.84 UNKNOWN f0:03:8c:8c:d3:ad
8 192.168.20.63 UNKNOWN f0:6e:0b:21:3c:4f
9 192.168.20.4 UNKNOWN 50:c7:bf:66:97:69
10 192.168.20.70 UNKNOWN 98:01:a7:6a:c1:8d
11 192.168.20.69 UNKNOWN 68:54:fd:29:ec:ee
12 192.168.20.66 UNKNOWN 88:71:e5:a7:ec:46
13 192.168.20.162 UNKNOWN 74:75:48:8d:9f:b0
14 192.168.20.75 UNKNOWN 60:02:b4:a7:fd:ec
15 192.168.20.72 UNKNOWN d0:c5:f3:60:6d:2e
16 192.168.20.81 UNKNOWN 00:17:88:4b:03:a6
17 192.168.20.75 SKY+HD 00:19:fb:f3:04:3d
18 192.168.20.68 UNKNOWN 40:cb:c0:aa:85:bc
19 192.168.20.65 UNKNOWN 48:02:2e:02:81:d3
20 192.168.20.60 MACBOOKAIR-MAE d4:61:9d:02:4f:6c
21 192.168.20.12 UNKNOWN e8:de:27:99:c0:dd
22 192.168.20.64 UNKNOWN b8:27:eb:95:d1:28
23 192.168.20.85 UNKNOWN b2:f3:70:c3:a3:28

 

-------

With Zen internet on G.fast (212Mbps down, 41Mbps up throughput). Own WebSite & Email High-Availability cluster.
First Assistant Director
Posts: 2,418
Post 5 of 60
7,637 Views

Re: "Too many devices" ? How many devices are connected to your router?

Are all those 23 device connected via wifi?

 

Historically Sky's routers have only supported a maximum of 16 simultaneous wifi connections.

_____________________________________________________
Sky Q 2TB v2 + 2x Mini, LG 55UH850V, Lumagen Radiance Pro 4242,
Yamaha RX-A2040 (7.1.2) + Yamaha A-S1100
Executive Producer
Posts: 5,263
Post 6 of 60
7,632 Views

Re: "Too many devices" ? How many devices are connected to your router?

@simon194

 

20 over wifi and 3 on a wired connection. And there is no 16 device limitation on the 5Ghz band on the Sky ER110, as I've confirmed it to be the case. The Sky SR102 does have that limitation:Smiley Very Happy

-------

With Zen internet on G.fast (212Mbps down, 41Mbps up throughput). Own WebSite & Email High-Availability cluster.
Boom Operator
Posts: 14
Post 7 of 60
7,592 Views

Re: "Too many devices" ? How many devices are connected to your router?

None of our devices connect via wifi on the Sky router (ER115) - they all connect via a decent Unifi AP. Wireless is turned off on the router too.

 

I find it hard to believe there's a limit of devices via LAN. Also the issues we had started when we only had 13 devices (we've just recently added two Nest Protect and an Echo).

 

I think I'll call Sky again and see if I get someone more useful maybe...

Executive Producer
Posts: 5,263
Post 8 of 60
7,589 Views

Re: "Too many devices" ? How many devices are connected to your router?


wrote:

 

I think I'll call Sky again and see if I get someone more useful maybe...


I think that would be a great idea, as everything you state is absolutely correct. There is no limit on the LAN side of things that you've hit in any way. The ER115 is basically the same as the ER110 with the exception the power supply is external to the router.

-------

With Zen internet on G.fast (212Mbps down, 41Mbps up throughput). Own WebSite & Email High-Availability cluster.
Anonymous
Not applicable
Posts: 0
Post 9 of 60
7,572 Views

Re: "Too many devices" ? How many devices are connected to your router?


wrote:

Does anyone else have 15+ devices connected? Do you have problems?

...  

== What's the issue? ==

We're experiencing intermitted issues where the LAN Port collision packets spike 1-3 times a day.

Connectivity is fine, apart from when it stops - and there's lots of LAN port collision packets showing.

Disconnecting/reconnecting fixes it.

From my view, it could be it's a dodgy router which either can't cope with "all that traffic" or maybe it can't cope with "so many devices". Or possibly it *could* be a device going mental - but it's intermittent and we've never had this issue with other providers. The only thing that has changed is getting a Sky router.


What connectivity stops btw?

What do you disconnect / reconnect to fix 'it'?

Given you only have a single uplink from the Sky hub to your HP switch and the WiFi on the hub is off I can't see how you get collisions. Is the uplink working full duplex?

 

Executive Producer
Posts: 5,263
Post 10 of 60
7,562 Views

Re: "Too many devices" ? How many devices are connected to your router?

@Anonymous

 

That isn't quite right. Broadcasts/multicasts would propagate throughout the network switches and wireless, and cause collisions even on a full duplex full 1Gbps environment. That is because a broadcast/multicast would be raised throughout the complete network, and 2 stations doing so would cause a collision.

-------

With Zen internet on G.fast (212Mbps down, 41Mbps up throughput). Own WebSite & Email High-Availability cluster.
Boom Operator
Posts: 14
Post 11 of 60
7,416 Views

Re: "Too many devices" ? How many devices are connected to your router?

1 - Only connectivity to the internet fails. The router reports LAN packet collisions. All internal network traffic (i.e. via wired to the HP switch or the AP connected to the switch) work fine.

 

2 - Interestingly, to fix it, I go to the Sky admin panel "Maintenance" then "Connection", then in the popup window which shows the fibre connection stats I "disconnect" then "reconnect" the internet connection. All is fine straight away after that.

 

3 - Checking on the HP switch the connection to the router is showing as 1000mbps Full Duplex.

Director of Photography
Posts: 1,746
Post 12 of 60
7,411 Views

Re: "Too many devices" ? How many devices are connected to your router?

For trouble shooting purposes it might be worth logging into the router and change the ethernet settings to fast ethernet with energy efficiency disabled (if you haven't already).

Anonymous
Not applicable
Posts: 0
Post 13 of 60
7,407 Views

Re: "Too many devices" ? How many devices are connected to your router?


@JBDBwrote:

1 - Only connectivity to the internet fails. The router reports LAN packet collisions. All internal network traffic (i.e. via wired to the HP switch or the AP connected to the switch) work fine.

 

2 - Interestingly, to fix it, I go to the Sky admin panel "Maintenance" then "Connection", then in the popup window which shows the fibre connection stats I "disconnect" then "reconnect" the internet connection. All is fine straight away after that.

 

3 - Checking on the HP switch the connection to the router is showing as 1000mbps Full Duplex.


Good information. So it looks like a WAN issue.

When this happens and you access the Mantenance->Connection Status page what does this show (is it still showing connected?) Can you  post a screen shot?

 

Director of Photography
Posts: 1,746
Post 14 of 60
7,377 Views

Re: "Too many devices" ? How many devices are connected to your router?

Here's another suggestion, (but I'm not a expert), try disabling IPv6 LAN side on your router, and see if this helps.

Boom Operator
Posts: 14
Post 15 of 60
7,375 Views

Re: "Too many devices" ? How many devices are connected to your router?

Router already has energy efficient ethernet turned off.

I've switch from Gigabit to 'fast' to see if that helps.

 

Image below.

Sky again.png

 

 

Reply