Help
Help
 
Unlimited, Lite & Connect broadband
From Unlimited to Lite our Sky Broadband packages are tailored to your family's needs. For advice in improving your speed, protecting your family online or connecting your device.
Reply
Occasional Visitor
Debandoll1
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎26-11-2010

Change DNS server settings

Hi All, When I log into my router I can not find on any of the tabs where to change my DNS sever any ideas?

 

                                                         Thanks Debbie :smileyhappy:

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Super User
caesarome
Posts: 43,451
Registered: ‎27-10-2010

Re: Change DNS server settings

On mine there is an entry under 'Advanced' for Dynamic DNS'.

 

You can also cahnge your DNS settings via the Control Pannel on your computer.

__________________________________________________________________________________________.

If someone has helped you then please click on the LIKES button in their post.
I do not work for Sky.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
AncientRime
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎23-03-2011

Re: Change DNS server settings

 


caesarome wrote:

On mine there is an entry under 'Advanced' for Dynamic DNS'.

 

You can also cahnge your DNS settings via the Control Pannel on your computer.


 

Sadly that is not the same thing. Dynamic DNS helps you run a web server on your home broadband line even though its public IP address is changing regularly.

 

What is required is a way to change the DNS Servers that are used to resolve website domain names into IP Addresses. Not being able to use your own DNS Servers (such as the excellent ones at opendns.com) means that you can't put effective Parental Controls in place for your account.

 

Since Sky has locked down the router hardware unit to prevent you changing the DNS Servers that are used, you can't do it. So my family now has access to all the porn they want at all times of the day and night. Until I find another solution. Not happy....

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Senior Member (Diamond)
Oliver341
Posts: 1,830
Registered: ‎17-12-2010

Re: Change DNS server settings

[ Edited ]

A less neat but workable solution is to configure the DNS server settings on the PC itself, as caesarome suggests. Make sure the other user(s) do not have admin rights if you want it to be a parental control measure.

Oliver.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Contributor
somebloke
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎11-05-2011

Re: Change DNS server settings


AncientRime wrote:

 


caesarome wrote:

On mine there is an entry under 'Advanced' for Dynamic DNS'.

 

You can also cahnge your DNS settings via the Control Pannel on your computer.


 

Sadly that is not the same thing. Dynamic DNS helps you run a web server on your home broadband line even though its public IP address is changing regularly.

 

What is required is a way to change the DNS Servers that are used to resolve website domain names into IP Addresses. Not being able to use your own DNS Servers (such as the excellent ones at opendns.com) means that you can't put effective Parental Controls in place for your account.

 

Since Sky has locked down the router hardware unit to prevent you changing the DNS Servers that are used, you can't do it. So my family now has access to all the porn they want at all times of the day and night. Until I find another solution. Not happy....


+1 to this.

 

This is extremely shonky. I migrated away from Plusnet to Sky Broadband today and this limitation is extremely annoying. I too want to be able to change my DNS settings so that I can use OpenDNS for its objectionable content filtering abilities.

 

Changing DNS settings on individual PCs, mobile devices etc etc is NOT a credible solution. I expect to be able to change this setting in one place and have it apply to all devices that connect to my router as is reasonable to expect.

 

Can someone from Sky please explain why the ability to change DNS setting is locked out on the Sagem router and when this will be resolved please? I assume it could be fixed with a firmware update?

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Community Coordinator
Robert
Posts: 7,723
Registered: ‎08-12-2010

Re: Change DNS server settings

Hi somebloke, 

 

There are currently no plans to allow this setting to be changed within the router firmware, however I will pass your feedback on.

Robert
Community Coordinator
Community Welcome, Hints & Tips
Sky Help Centre http://www.sky.com/help

New to the forum? Click here
Tagging your posts and others with relevant key words is another way to help,
it also counts towards forum rank.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Contributor
somebloke
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎11-05-2011

Re: Change DNS server settings


Robert wrote:

Hi somebloke, 

 

There are currently no plans to allow this setting to be changed within the router firmware, however I will pass your feedback on.


Robert,

 

Thank you for passing this on. I am struggling to understand any technical, security or other reason why DNS settings should be locked out like this. It is a significant limitation of the service and other solutions such as change DNS settings on individual systems and/or purchase filtering software for installation on PCs etc are simply not credible.

 

It's a shame that I can't set up a poll via this forum to see how much interest there is within the Sky Broadband community to have the ability to change DNS settings made available on Sky provided routers.

 

An alternative would be, would Sky consider providing some form of content filtering service via their own DNS platform? That would also work for me.

 

Ta.

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Member
thr0b
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎19-08-2011

Re: Change DNS server settings

This is an irritation for me as well - Sky's DNS resolution is, it's fair to say, pretty poor. I'm using Google DNS now, but only via the network settings on my computer. I don't relish manually changing the DNS server on every single connected device in my house - there are a LOT to do.

 

Enable the DNS server settings option; stick it in the "Advanced" tab. Stick some DIRE WARNINGS before it if you want, but enable it. It's the same on the D-Link router as well.

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Super User
Damien-SW
Posts: 1,987
Registered: ‎27-01-2011

Re: Change DNS server settings

there nothing topping you add another router after the sky router that will solve your problem.

 

 

----------------------------
If I have replied to one of your post for help and asked a question which you have answered but not got a reply from me feel free to PM to remind me to check your post.

Also if i have helped please click on kudos and if I solved the problem please make my post as a solution.

Damien
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Member
thr0b
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎19-08-2011

Re: Change DNS server settings

Equally there is nothing stopping Sky enabling a basic option. :smileyhappy:

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
ClickyMcSwitch
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎20-12-2011

Re: Change DNS server settings

I changed from BeUnlimited (a truly UNlimited internet service) to Sky "Unlimited" and plugged in my router this morning, only to find that I couldn't change the dns to use OpenDNS to protect my families many devices (PS3's, XBoxes, iPhones, iPods, Laptops, PC) from the nasties on the internet, something I have done for a few years.

I also noticed that download speed was limited to 4096kbps and confirmed this with a speed test. 

So Sky "Unlimited" is in fact very limited from the outset. This is disgusting.

As I am within my Cooling off period for distance selling, I will probably be cancelling the service and returning to BeUnlimited.

There is no logical reason to limit DNS on the router if it can be circumvented further downstream (in other words by changing it on the next hop ie the PC's network interface), so why annoy your customer base in such a way that they, as in my case, would have to change DNS manually on as many as 16 devices? I had many reservations about changing to Sky and, sadly, they have all been realised.

 

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Retired Staff Member
StacieB
Posts: 2,545
Registered: ‎01-11-2011

Re: Change DNS server settings

[ Edited ]

Hi ClickyMcSwitch,

 

Thanks for your post, I'm sorry its not under better circumstances and I apologise for the late response. 

 

OpenDNS is not something that we can support you with, however I am aware that other community members have been giving advice on how to achieve this here.

 

I'm sorry if you have made the decision to return to BeUnlimited as we do not wish to lose any of our customers and try to offer the best service possible, however OpenDNS is not something we are able to help with.

 

Thanks. 

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Visitor
itguru
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-01-2012

Re: Change DNS server settings

I am afraid I just cannot keep quiet reading those posts.

 

Could you "SKY SUPPORT" guys not see other people's opinions that they do not want to change DNS settings on each and every device/computers?

 

So, your help here are useless unless you "SKY TECHNICAL" guys open up the basic settings to change DNS on the routers!!!!

 

I am also a new SKY customer and I found this really annoying and unnecessary lock downs are put in place in the routers!

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Retired Staff Member
StacieB
Posts: 2,545
Registered: ‎01-11-2011

Re: Change DNS server settings

Hi itguru,

 

Thanks for your post and welcome to our community.

 

Yes I do understand customers frustrations regarding this subject; however opening up the ability to change the DNS settings via the router is not something we implement.

 

I apologise that this is not the answer you are looking for. 

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
ledzepboc
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎14-01-2012

Re: Change DNS server settings

I have set up a network using Windows 2003 server with its own dns server, Active Directory etc. and using the Sky router as the network router. I am trying to get my client pc's to use the Win 2003 server dns on 192.168.0.2 and set up the preferred dns as this ip address but find when running ipconfig /all on the client that it reverts back to the skyrouter.home dns at 192.168.0.1 thus causing me lots of connectivity and file/print sharing problems. Can I assume that this problem manifests itself because of Sky's dns policy?

 

Regards

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.