Help
Help
 
Sky Go Discussions
Reply
Member
Stuza
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-11-2012

SkyGo - Windows 8? *SOLVED*

[ Edited ]

Hey guys

 

Is/has anyone else out there got SkyGo to work on Windows 8?  I get as far as upgrading security components etc but thats it.  SkyGo doesn't attempt to register the device either :smileysad:

 

I've tried all the usual stuff, cleaning off Silverlight, Firefox, IE, downloading the "old" version 5.0.61118, turning off version upgrades, but none of it works for me.  I REALLY want to crack this before the cricket starts or i'll have wasted £40 and more importantly, I'll miss out on 2 days of fun!

 

 

Any ideas?

 

Thanks!!!

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Member
Stuza
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-11-2012

Re: SkyGo - Windows 8? *SOLVED*

After posting this I suddenly had a brainwave (my one for the year! Took its time!)

 

I set Firefox to run as Windows 7 app AND run as Administrator.... it now plays!  Thats also after installing the latest Silverlight using IE 10.

 

I know Firefox as Administrator is a BAD idea BUT, as long as I use it ONLY for SkyGo, should be ok, right?  I'll stick to IE10 for everything else.

 

 

Hope that helps you fellow touchscreeners!

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
sam.saidi
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-12-2012

Re: SkyGo - Windows 8? *SOLVED*

[Cross posted from similar thread]

 

OK so this works without needing to install another browser:

 

-Navigate to your program of choice

-Once connected click the 'popup' window icon

-In the pop-up box (which has no video and sound) press F12. Then change the browser mode to "IE9". Then press F12 again.

 

You have to do it each time unfortunately but it is a quick solution for now

 

Thanks

Sam

 

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
heavyend81
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-01-2012

Re: SkyGo - Windows 8? *SOLVED*

Thanks Sam.saidi I was pulling my hair out this solution works fine (I had to re-register the same pc though just so other are aware)
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Member
srwcricket
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-01-2013

Re: SkyGo - Windows 8? *SOLVED*

Does this also work for Windows 8 smart phones?
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Regular Visitor
Verner
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎30-08-2011

Re: SkyGo - Windows 8? *SOLVED*

Many thanks for that Stuza. Still pretty unbelievable that you/we have to do this to get a service which like Apple and Android owners do instantly. Still now Windows Phone 8 support either.......ridiculous IMHO.
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
renospurs
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎27-01-2013

Re: SkyGo - Windows 8? *SOLVED*

Sky please come on and sort Windows Phone 8 and Windows 8 app, I will be cancelling soon otherwise as my kids monopolise the TV....
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
mw-sky
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-01-2013

Re: SkyGo - Windows 8? *SOLVED*

I would love to see a Windows RT app too. Currently I cant use my surface for Sky but am using it for netflix.

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
CLIMAZZ
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎27-01-2013

Re: SkyGo - Windows 8? *SOLVED*

PLEASE CONFIRM HOW I 'RUN FIREFOX AS WINDOWS 7 APP AND RUN AS ADMINISTRATOR' SORRY FOR BEING DIM

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
CLIMAZZ
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎27-01-2013

Re: SkyGo - Windows 8? *SOLVED*

HI. WHEN I CLICK F12 IN THE POP UP BOX (WHERE THE VIDEO SHOULD BE PLAYING?) NOTHING HAPPENS AT ALL - WHEN THE VIDEO FAILS IGET AN ERROR MESSAGE WITH A GREY BACKGROUND t6038 c4110 - ANY HELP APPRECIATED

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
BR0WNI3
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎14-02-2013

Re: SkyGo - Windows 8? *SOLVED*

To run a program as administrator on windows 7/8 you right click the icon on the desktop (firefox.exe for example) and in the dialog box click run as adminstarator, or alternatively you can right click it choose properties click security/compatability and at the bottom there is a checkbox for run as admin so you dont have to right click it everytime

 

i hope this helps :smileyhappy:

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
salford1969
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎19-02-2013

Re: SkyGo - Windows 8? *SOLVED*

Thanks sam just done that and it works.

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
fancyabrew
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎22-02-2013

Re: SkyGo - Windows 8? *SOLVED*

[ Edited ]

+1 for RT support but just geting win8 support would be a start.  It is becoming very tiresome now that Win8, win8 RT or win8 phone are not supported.  Yet others 4OD, channel 5 and TVCachup work fine (4OD works on win8 and RT, and TVcatchup works on every MS platform) if a small outfit like TVCatchup can develop a cross platform app what the hell are a company the size of Sky doing!?  Sky seem to be from the same media lovey stable as the BBC and think the World <REMOVED>

 

Edited: Removed inappropriate/unfounded allegation

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
jason179
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎27-02-2013

Re: SkyGo - Windows 8? *SOLVED*

Hi just thought i would let people know i am running windows 8 and using internet explorer and have the same issue however just press the F5 key to refresh the page and all works fine hope this will help some others:smileytongue:

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Dickie+Ticker
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎15-03-2013

Re: SkyGo - Windows 8? *SOLVED*

I would just like to add that it's no so much a Windows 8 issue but that SkyGo Desktop isn't fully compatible with IE 10, which all you Windows 8 users will have pre-installed.

 

IE 10 has just been released for Windows 7 and guess what, the pop out window no longer works correctly anymore.

 

As Sam said, just F12 on the pop out and change compatibility to IE 9 or IE 10 compatibility mode.

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.