The Sky Community and GDPR

Community Manager

On 25 May 2018, the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) will come into force. The GDPR is a European law that governs how all organisations handle people’s information and sets out the requirements they must comply with. It also outlines the rights people have over their information and how it’s used.

 

In order to comply with the new regulations, we've introduced some new features into the community. These relate to your right to access your personal information as well as the right to delete your account.

 

For more information on Sky and GDPR head to Sky.com/GDPR

 

What can you do?

 

  • Delete your account
  • Remove IP addresses and Device ID’s from your profile
  • Download your data

 

Deleting your account

 

First, click your profile.

 

 

Picture1.jpg

 

Then click through to “My Settings”.

 

Picture2.jpg

 

Select “Personal Profile” from the menu & then “Close Account” from the sub menu.

 

Picture4.jpg

 

Next, if you are sure you wish to go ahead with deleting your account you need to click “Close Account”.

 

Picture5.jpg

 

Lastly, confirm your username & click “Close Account”. Please note this action is both instantaneous and permanent. The following information is deleted by carrying out this action.

 

  • Personal information including email address
  • Avatar & display name
  • Profile information including signature and biography
  • Email subscriptions & bookmarks
  • All the likes you have received
  • All the solutions you have posted
  • Your rank & any badges you’ve earned

 

Picture6.jpg

 

 

Removing Device ID’s and IP addresses from your account

 

First, click your profile.

 

Picture1.jpg

 

 

Then click through to “My Settings”.

 

Picture2.jpg

 

Select “Personal Profile” from the menu & then “My Profile” from the sub menu.

 

Picture7.jpg

 

Here you’ll find IP addresses and Device ID used for logging into the Community as well as the option to delete this information.

 

Picture8.jpg 

 

When you click delete you will be asked for confirmation. Click “yes, delete all my IP addresses”. Please note the next time you log in we will record the IP address against your profile again. You are able to delete all this information as and when you want.

 

Picture9.jpg

 

Downloading your data

 

You are able to download everything you’ve posted on the community as well as your personal information.

 

First, click your profile.

 

Picture1.jpg

 

 Then click through to “My Settings”.

 

Picture2.jpg

 

Select “Personal Profile” from the menu & then “My Profile” from the sub menu.

 

Picture7.jpg

 

 

You now need to click on either the “My community content” link to see all of your community activity or the “My personal information” link to see your personal information.

 

Picture10.jpg

 

Clicking these links will download a JSON file to your device.

 

 



About the author
Sam
"I was born not knowing and have had only a little time to change that here and there." - Richard P. Feynman.