Archived Discussions
This page has been archived
The content on this page may be out-of-date or have been superseded by newer information. Links on this page to other sites may not work and contact information may be inaccurate. This page has been archived for future reference. Learn more about this message
Reply
Getting There
Posts: 2
Joined: ‎10-06-2012
Accepted Solution

remote stopped working

Hi this afternoon my sky+ HD remote stopped working. I have changed the batteries but the red light at the top of the remote is not flashing when I hit the buttons. I am able to navigate using the panel on the hd box.

The tv is a Sony tv
Oracle
Posts: 10,773
Joined: ‎26-03-2011

Re: remote stopped working

Try removing one battery,hold down the select button for 60 seconds before replacing the battery.Then retry.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

If you have been helped by someone please click on the thumbs up icon to give them Likes.

View solution in original post


All Replies
Oracle
Posts: 10,773
Joined: ‎26-03-2011

Re: remote stopped working

Try removing one battery,hold down the select button for 60 seconds before replacing the battery.Then retry.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

If you have been helped by someone please click on the thumbs up icon to give them Likes.
Getting There
Posts: 2
Joined: ‎10-06-2012

Re: remote stopped working

Worked! Brill, thanks. The tv was stuck on itv!
Getting There
Posts: 1
Joined: ‎10-08-2012

Re: remote stopped working

Mate what a legend you are! How I scoffed at your suggestion and dismissed you; now I want to buy you beer and slap you on the back. Thank you!

 

...and now to retrieve those 4 other batteries I discarded in the bin.

 

Peace. Good karma I send to you.

I'm New Here
Posts: 1
Joined: ‎11-08-2012

Re: remote stopped working

Mine doesn't work. It flashes 3 times when I replace the battery and then nothing.
I'm New Here
Posts: 1
Joined: ‎12-08-2012

Re: remote stopped working

Absolute legend ..... No idea how or why that worked but just saved me the cost of a new remote 

 

Cheers

I'm New Here
Posts: 1
Joined: ‎22-08-2012

Re: remote stopped working

Thanks for the tip works great

I'm New Here
Posts: 1
Joined: ‎22-08-2012

Re: remote stopped working

Worked a treat! Thanks

I'm New Here
Posts: 1
Joined: ‎02-09-2012

Re: remote stopped working

Afraid it didn't work for me but this did - from another forum:

 

"You can reset a sky remote control by pressing in sequence --- TV , Red and select buttons together , ( red led should blink twice ) , 999 then Select. This will reset the rc to a default setting."

 

Happy days to all...

Getting There
Posts: 1
Joined: ‎13-09-2012

Re: remote stopped working

Thanks!!! No idea how or why but your solution worked for me too! You Sir, are a legend. Thanks again.
I'm New Here
Posts: 1
Joined: ‎13-09-2012

Re: remote stopped working

your the man!!!! cant believe it worked.

Getting There
Posts: 1
Joined: ‎17-09-2012

Re: remote stopped working

Worked for me too!!! Thanks so much this was seriously doin my head in
Retired Staff Member
Posts: 4,048
Joined: ‎07-11-2011

Re: remote stopped working

Hi morbiusdog, cjsloman & sharon30,

 

Welcome to the forum all of you.

 

I'm glad to here you once again have working Sky remotes Smiley Happy

 

Thanks,

Barry
Community Coordinator
Community Welcome, Hints & Tips
Sky Help Centre http://www.sky.com/help

New to the forum? Click here
Tagging your posts and others with relevant key words is another way to help,
it also counts towards forum rank.
I'm New Here
Posts: 1
Joined: ‎19-09-2012

Re: remote stopped working

U hero !! jst saved me £25 thanku x
Getting There
Posts: 3
Joined: ‎07-04-2011

Re: remote stopped working

Brilliant. I thought that the remote had completely packed up until I read your remedy. Thank you.