Help
Help
 
Archived Discussions
This page has been archived
The content on this page may be out-of-date or have been superseded by newer information. Links on this page to other sites may not work and contact information may be inaccurate. This page has been archived for future reference.
Learn more about this message
Reply
Occasional Visitor
glle44
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-06-2012
Accepted Solution

remote stopped working

Hi this afternoon my sky+ HD remote stopped working. I have changed the batteries but the red light at the top of the remote is not flashing when I hit the buttons. I am able to navigate using the panel on the hd box.

The tv is a Sony tv
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Super User
kato
Posts: 9,799
Registered: ‎26-03-2011

Re: remote stopped working

Try removing one battery,hold down the select button for 60 seconds before replacing the battery.Then retry.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

If you have been helped by someone please click on the thumbs up icon to give them Likes.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
glle44
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-06-2012

Re: remote stopped working

Worked! Brill, thanks. The tv was stuck on itv!
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
GlosMucker
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-08-2012

Re: remote stopped working

Mate what a legend you are! How I scoffed at your suggestion and dismissed you; now I want to buy you beer and slap you on the back. Thank you!

 

...and now to retrieve those 4 other batteries I discarded in the bin.

 

Peace. Good karma I send to you.

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
tornado+taylor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-08-2012

Re: remote stopped working

Mine doesn't work. It flashes 3 times when I replace the battery and then nothing.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
Ronif
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-08-2012

Re: remote stopped working

Absolute legend ..... No idea how or why that worked but just saved me the cost of a new remote 

 

Cheers

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
dadski
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎22-08-2012

Re: remote stopped working

Thanks for the tip works great

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
45Ranger
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎22-08-2012

Re: remote stopped working

Worked a treat! Thanks

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
Yogiman
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-09-2012

Re: remote stopped working

Afraid it didn't work for me but this did - from another forum:

 

"You can reset a sky remote control by pressing in sequence --- TV , Red and select buttons together , ( red led should blink twice ) , 999 then Select. This will reset the rc to a default setting."

 

Happy days to all...

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
morbiusdog
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎13-09-2012

Re: remote stopped working

Thanks!!! No idea how or why but your solution worked for me too! You Sir, are a legend. Thanks again.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
cjsloman
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎13-09-2012

Re: remote stopped working

your the man!!!! cant believe it worked.

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
sharon30
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎17-09-2012

Re: remote stopped working

Worked for me too!!! Thanks so much this was seriously doin my head in
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Retired Staff Member
batweb79
Posts: 4,048
Registered: ‎07-11-2011

Re: remote stopped working

Hi morbiusdog, cjsloman & sharon30,

 

Welcome to the forum all of you.

 

I'm glad to here you once again have working Sky remotes :smileyhappy:

 

Thanks,

Barry
Community Coordinator
Community Welcome, Hints & Tips
Sky Help Centre http://www.sky.com/help

New to the forum? Click here
Tagging your posts and others with relevant key words is another way to help,
it also counts towards forum rank.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
mandymoo66
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎19-09-2012

Re: remote stopped working

U hero !! jst saved me £25 thanku x
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Visitor
shiner01
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-04-2011

Re: remote stopped working

Brilliant. I thought that the remote had completely packed up until I read your remedy. Thank you.

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.