Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
 
Help
Help
 
Archived Discussions
This page has been archived
The content on this page may be out-of-date or have been superseded by newer information. Links on this page to other sites may not work and contact information may be inaccurate. This page has been archived for future reference.
Learn more about this message
Reply
Member
needles+70
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-03-2012
Accepted Solution

remote not working on sky

My remote has stopped working for my sky box. I can use it ok to change channel on my tv, but when I press the Sky button to control the Sky box it wont change any channels or access any menus. Any help much appriciated

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Super User
caesarome
Posts: 44,973
Registered: ‎27-10-2010

Re: remote not working on sky

Try taking one battery out and then hold down the select button for 60 seconds before putting the battery back, pressing the sky button and trying again.
__________________________________________________________________________________________.

If someone has helped you then please click on the LIKES button in their post.
I do not work for Sky.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Member
needles+70
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-03-2012

Re: remote not working on sky

Just tried that and no joy 

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Super User
kato
Posts: 9,966
Registered: ‎26-03-2011

Re: remote not working on sky

Try resetting the remote.

 

Press [TV] and then hold [select] and [red button] together for around two seconds (until the red light blinks twice). Now press 999 (red light blinks once for a long time and then twice quickly).

Then enter the correct code for your TV.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

If you have been helped by someone please click on the thumbs up icon to give them Likes.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Member
needles+70
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-03-2012

Re: remote not working on sky

Thanks for the replies, and after going through all the forums for reset techniques and trying them, still no joy with working my Sky box with my sky remote

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Super User
Mark39
Posts: 19,812
Registered: ‎30-11-2010

Re: remote not working on sky

When you point the remote at the Sky box, and press the Sky button, does the green LED on the front panel of the Sky box light?

 

If you have a digital camera, try pointing the remote at the camera lens and pressing the Sky button: if the remote is working ok you should see a white flash through the camera viewfinder.

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Member
needles+70
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-03-2012

Re: remote not working on sky

I'm getting no lights at all on the Sky box, except for the green power light. 

 

Pressed the Sky button and got a white light through a camera viewfinder

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Super User
caesarome
Posts: 44,973
Registered: ‎27-10-2010

Re: remote not working on sky

Have you tried rebooting your box, leave it unplugged for 5 minutes before plugging it back in and then wait another 3 or 4 minutes before trying again.

__________________________________________________________________________________________.

If someone has helped you then please click on the LIKES button in their post.
I do not work for Sky.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Member
needles+70
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-03-2012

Re: remote not working on sky

Have contacted Sky and they are sending a new remote to me

 

Thanks everyone for your help, but appears my remote is faulty

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Senior Member (Platinum)
Kenneth+M
Posts: 4,857
Registered: ‎27-10-2010

Re: remote not working on sky

If you have a HD remote and a Sky+HD box, try on the remote:

 

Press 'tv'

Press 'Select' and 'i' together ( remote LED flashes twice )

'2'

'Select' ( remote LED flashes twice )

Sky button

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Retired Staff Member
Anne-M
Posts: 7,551
Registered: ‎10-10-2011

Re: remote not working on sky

Hi needles+70, 

 

Can you let me know if the new remote control resolves the issue? 

 

Thanks, 

Anne
Community Coordinator
Community Welcome, Hints & Tips
Sky Help Centre http://www.sky.com/help

New to the forum? Click here
Tagging your posts and others with relevant key words is another way to help,
it also counts towards forum rank.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Member
needles+70
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-03-2012

Re: remote not working on sky

New remote worked a treat, All ok now

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Retired Staff Member
GarryC
Posts: 4,977
Registered: ‎18-03-2011

Re: remote not working on sky

Hi needles+70,

 

That is good news, thanks for letting us know :smileyhappy:

 

Feel free to post on the forum again in the future with any comments or queries.

 

Thanks,

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
Silverdarlings95
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-03-2012

Re: remote not working on sky

Thankyou remote now fully functional again

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
Beageva
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎26-04-2012

Re: remote not working on sky

Thanks for that advice - worked a treat.

 

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.