Help
Help
 
Archived Discussions
This page has been archived
The content on this page may be out-of-date or have been superseded by newer information. Links on this page to other sites may not work and contact information may be inaccurate. This page has been archived for future reference.
Learn more about this message
Reply
Member
helen+jackson
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎19-01-2012

channel keeps changing

my sky seems to have developed a mind of its own and keeps switching channels and moving to the planner all by itself

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Retired Staff Member
GarryC
Posts: 4,977
Registered: ‎18-03-2011

Re: channel keeps changing

Hi helen+jackson,

 

Could you give us a little more information as to what the box is doing when this happens? Is it just showing live content, or does it seem to happen more when watching recordings etc?

 

Is there anything sitting on top of the box which may be pushing any buttons?

 

Thanks,

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Super User
caesarome
Posts: 42,602
Registered: ‎27-10-2010

Re: channel keeps changing

[ Edited ]

Do you have any wireless devices nearby like a baby monitor etc  as these have been known to interfer with the boxes.

__________________________________________________________________________________________.

If someone has helped you then please click on the LIKES button in their post.
I do not work for Sky.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Member
helen+jackson
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎19-01-2012

Re: channel keeps changing

the channel changes over randomly and is doing the same tonight. It happens while I'm watching live tv not when I'm watching a recorded programme. There isn't anything near or on the tv causing the problem.

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Community Coordinator
Anne-M
Posts: 7,551
Registered: ‎10-10-2011

Re: channel keeps changing

Hi helen+jackson, 

 

Can you try a planner rebuild for me and let me know if this helps with the box?

 

Thanks, 

Anne
Community Coordinator
Community Welcome, Hints & Tips
Sky Help Centre http://www.sky.com/help

New to the forum? Click here
Tagging your posts and others with relevant key words is another way to help,
it also counts towards forum rank.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Senior Member (Platinum)
Kenneth+M
Posts: 4,399
Registered: ‎27-10-2010

Re: channel keeps changing

If you're in a flat, maybe a wireless videosender next door?

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Member
helen+jackson
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎19-01-2012

Re: channel keeps changing

I've tried this suggestion and I'll send another update tomorrow

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Community Coordinator
Anne-M
Posts: 7,551
Registered: ‎10-10-2011

Re: channel keeps changing

Hi helen+jackson, 

 

I was just looking to see if you are still having issues with the box changing channels? Can you let me know if we can assist further?

 

Thanks, 

Anne
Community Coordinator
Community Welcome, Hints & Tips
Sky Help Centre http://www.sky.com/help

New to the forum? Click here
Tagging your posts and others with relevant key words is another way to help,
it also counts towards forum rank.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
flashybike1
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-07-2012

Re: channel keeps changing

I'm having this problem and I've only had sky a week! It's driving me mad!!!
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Community Coordinator
Anne-M
Posts: 7,551
Registered: ‎10-10-2011

Re: channel keeps changing

Hi flashybike1,

Can you let me know if you are seeing the red LED lighting up on the box for the remote controlling the box?

Thanks,
Anne
Community Coordinator
Community Welcome, Hints & Tips
Sky Help Centre http://www.sky.com/help

New to the forum? Click here
Tagging your posts and others with relevant key words is another way to help,
it also counts towards forum rank.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Senior Member (Gold)
John8372
Posts: 1,420
Registered: ‎04-03-2012

Re: channel keeps changing

Hi Anne-M,

 

Flashbike1 did put more information in this post.

 

http://helpforum.sky.com/t5/Sky-HD/HD-Box-Problem-Changing-channels-itself-and-loose-cable/m-p/50106...

 

 

Flashbike1,

 

What things have you tried from the topics you have posted on?

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.