Help
Help
 
Archived Discussions
This page has been archived
The content on this page may be out-of-date or have been superseded by newer information. Links on this page to other sites may not work and contact information may be inaccurate. This page has been archived for future reference.
Learn more about this message
Reply
Occasional Visitor
ceelee
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-11-2010
Accepted Solution

can only record the program I am watching?

 hello all,

 

wondered if someone can help? I have sky plus hd but have noticed if I have a planned recording and I am watching something else - I am unable to proceed with my recording unless I also watch that program. Is that normal?

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Senior Member
Pete+H2K
Posts: 447
Registered: ‎28-10-2010

Re: can only record the program I am watching?

Hi

 

I understand this is correct if you have the single feed option turned on.

 

This is usually the case if the box is installed in a block of flats where there is only one cable.

 

Can you confirm this ?

 

Cheers

Pete

_______________________________________________
this post contain my own views and suggestions based on past experiance.
I an not affiliated with Sky in any way.
Equipment: Thomson HD 4E3007 box, xBox, Sky BB, Sky Talk

If this post has helped you, you can thank me by clicking the pink star to give me Kudos :-)
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Nimit
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-11-2010

Re: can only record the program I am watching?

Hi

 

I am also facing similar issue, how to check if i am using single feed?

I am living in a Flat. Is there any way i can record one channel and view another?

 

Thanks

Nimit

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Senior Member
Pete+H2K
Posts: 447
Registered: ‎28-10-2010

Re: can only record the program I am watching?

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

For single feed operation, the satellite feed cable must be in Dish 1 Input

As far as I know, you can only record the same channel you are watching.

 

to check for single feed mode,

 

1. Press Services

2. Press 0 0 1 Select. This will enter the hidden menu. Be careful what you alter in this menu as it can delete all your recordings and stop you viewing sky.

3. In the setup tab, you should see Single Feed Mode at the bottom.

 

To change the settings

4. Press the down arrow button until you get to Single Feed Mode.

5. Press Right to toggle between Off and On

6. Press Green to save your required setting

 

Cheers

Pete

 

_______________________________________________
this post contain my own views and suggestions based on past experiance.
I an not affiliated with Sky in any way.
Equipment: Thomson HD 4E3007 box, xBox, Sky BB, Sky Talk

If this post has helped you, you can thank me by clicking the pink star to give me Kudos :-)
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Community Coordinator
Malcolm-M
Posts: 8,407
Registered: ‎21-10-2010

Re: can only record the program I am watching?

Thanks Pete, Full information is available here if it is helpful Nimit.

Malcolm-M
Community Coordinator
Community Welcome, Hints & Tips
Sky Help Centre http://www.sky.com/help

New to the forum? Click here
Tagging your posts and others with relevant key words is another way to help,
it also counts towards forum rank.
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
mel+b
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎16-11-2011

Re: can only record the program I am watching?

Hi

 

Just "upgraded" to sky hd, I live in a house not a flat however, I only have a single feed as that was what we had on the old sky+ box. No-one from sky advised this would be an issue and that we now have an inferior servcie to our old box (we could tape 2 prgrammes with our old box) and as we only have single feed option we cant use sky anytime. Very unhappy as our supposed upgrade is anything but that!! Does anyone know how to get around this other than pay the astronomical fees sky charge for an engineer?thanks 

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Super User
Mark39
Posts: 16,593
Registered: ‎30-11-2010

Re: can only record the program I am watching?


mel+b wrote:

Hi

 

Just "upgraded" to sky hd, I live in a house not a flat however, I only have a single feed as that was what we had on the old sky+ box. No-one from sky advised this would be an issue and that we now have an inferior servcie to our old box (we could tape 2 prgrammes with our old box) and as we only have single feed option we cant use sky anytime. Very unhappy as our supposed upgrade is anything but that!! Does anyone know how to get around this other than pay the astronomical fees sky charge for an engineer?thanks 


Double post.

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
pureduff34
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: can only record the program I am watching?

Try This. As i had the same problem also you have to turn sky anytime on as well .

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
pureduff34
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: can only record the program I am watching?

Hi,

 

For single feed operation, the satellite feed cable must be in Dish 1 Input

As far as I know, you can only record the same channel you are watching.

 

to check for single feed mode,

 

1. Press Services

2. Press 0 0 1 Select. This will enter the hidden menu. Be careful what you alter in this menu as it can delete all your recordings and stop you viewing sky.

3. In the setup tab, you should see Single Feed Mode at the bottom.

 

To change the settings

4. Press the down arrow button until you get to Single Feed Mode.

5. Press Right to toggle between Off and On

6. Press Green to save your required setting

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
pureduff34
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: can only record the program I am watching?

Hi . Try this 

Hi,

 

For single feed operation, the satellite feed cable must be in Dish 1 Input

As far as I know, you can only record the same channel you are watching.

 

to check for single feed mode,

 

1. Press Services

2. Press 0 0 1 Select. This will enter the hidden menu. Be careful what you alter in this menu as it can delete all your recordings and stop you viewing sky.

3. In the setup tab, you should see Single Feed Mode at the bottom.

 

To change the settings

4. Press the down arrow button until you get to Single Feed Mode.

5. Press Right to toggle between Off and On

6. Press Green to save your required setting

 

All so you have to turn sky anytime on to through the services option too .

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
pureduff34
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: can only record the program I am watching?

Let me know if you have any success ?

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
deidrebarlow
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-07-2013

Re: can only record the program I am watching?

I spent an hour on the phone to Sky customer services last night trying to get this sorted, and was then told that I'd have to pay £65 for an engineer to come out! Reading this has saved me £65 as its now fixed, so thank you! :-)
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.