Archived Discussions
This page has been archived
The content on this page may be out-of-date or have been superseded by newer information. Links on this page to other sites may not work and contact information may be inaccurate. This page has been archived for future reference. Learn more about this message
Reply
Explorer
durbee
Posts: 9
Joined: ‎15-09-2011
Accepted Solution

What size is the hard drive in my HD box?

[ Edited ]

Please help, I have an HD box that I wish to sell on eBay but can't find out what size the hard drive is in order to provide this information in the listing.

 

Is it possible to tell me from the following information about the box:-

 

Model=Amstrad DRX890 - R

Sky Part Code=14245

Model Number=SYSF26.80

Version Number=4F31A2

Serial Number=[REMOVED]

Operating System Version=SYSF26.80

EPG Software Version=40.0.14.11

 

Is it also possible to tell how old the unit is?

 

Many thanks......

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Super User
kato
Posts: 10,059
Joined: ‎26-03-2011

Re: What size is the hard drive in my HD box?


durbee wrote:

Please help, I have an HD box that I wish to sell on eBay but can't find out what size the hard drive is in order to provide this information in the listing.

 

Is it possible to tell me from the following information about the box:-

 

Model=Amstrad DRX890 - R

Sky Part Code=14245

Model Number=SYSF26.80

Version Number=4F31A2

Serial Number=[REMOVED]

Operating System Version=SYSF26.80

EPG Software Version=40.0.14.11

 

Is it also possible to tell how old the unit is?

 

Many thanks......


500 GB (250 GB for personal space).Not sure how you tell how old the box is though.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

If you have been helped by someone please click on the thumbs up icon to give them Likes.
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Explorer
durbee
Posts: 9
Joined: ‎15-09-2011

Re: What size is the hard drive in my HD box?

Many thanks, out of interest how do you know this?  Is there anywhere in/on the box that I can confirm this?

 

Thanks

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Super User
kato
Posts: 10,059
Joined: ‎26-03-2011

Re: What size is the hard drive in my HD box?


durbee wrote:

Many thanks, out of interest how do you know this?  Is there anywhere in/on the box that I can confirm this?

 

Thanks


Google- Amstrad DRX890.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

If you have been helped by someone please click on the thumbs up icon to give them Likes.
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Getting There
LeonJ
Posts: 2
Joined: ‎11-01-2012

Re: What size is the hard drive in my HD box?

Sorry to jump on an old post but the question is the same. The box is made by Samsung and the date is Dec 08. The following details are found in system details. Model ; R003.047.25.00P Version ; 973004 Operating system ; same number as model? EPG ; 47.0.16.1 Many thanks Leon
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Super User
caesarome
Posts: 46,178
Joined: ‎27-10-2010

Re: What size is the hard drive in my HD box?

The make and model number can usually be found on a sticker on the back of the box, if you can provide these details it will be easier to work this out.

__________________________________________________________________________________________.

If someone has helped you then please click on the LIKES button in their post.
I do not work for Sky.
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Staff
Anne-M
Posts: 7,551
Joined: ‎10-10-2011

Re: What size is the hard drive in my HD box?

Hi LeonJ, 

 

As this is your first post I would like to welcome you to the help forum :smileyhappy:

 

Your HD box has a 300GB hard drive, 160GB is for personal use and the other 140GB is for anytime use.

 

I hope this helps.

 

Thanks, 

Anne
Community Coordinator
Community Welcome, Hints & Tips
Sky Help Centre http://www.sky.com/help

New to the forum? Click here
Tagging your posts and others with relevant key words is another way to help,
it also counts towards forum rank.
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Getting There
LeonJ
Posts: 2
Joined: ‎11-01-2012

Re: What size is the hard drive in my HD box?

Thank you
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Getting There
tino79
Posts: 4
Joined: ‎29-03-2012

Re: What size is the hard drive in my HD box?

[ Edited ]

evening everyone,

 

could you plesde let me know the size of hard drive in my HD.

model: R000.047.28.00p

version: 4f3107

serial: <REMOVED>

OS: r000.047.28.00p

EPG: 47.0.16.1

 

thanks

 

tino

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Staff
Anne-M
Posts: 7,551
Joined: ‎10-10-2011

Re: What size is the hard drive in my HD box?

Hi tino79, 

 

Your enquiry has been answered here.

 

Thanks, 

Anne
Community Coordinator
Community Welcome, Hints & Tips
Sky Help Centre http://www.sky.com/help

New to the forum? Click here
Tagging your posts and others with relevant key words is another way to help,
it also counts towards forum rank.
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Graduate
WonderWabbit+Ste
Posts: 49
Joined: ‎07-04-2013

How can you tell what size is the hard drive in your Sky box?

Sorry for hi-jacking this post

 

but i am constantly seeing this question asked, but not really answered the way i would like it answered:

 

How do you tell what size is your Sky box?

 

White Sky+ (not suitable for On-Demand)

Black Sky+ (On-Demand "compatible")

Black Sky+HD

Black Sky+3D

 

All my version numbers are 4F not 4E

There is nothing in Settings/Details which identifies size

 

My question is What do you look for which tells ?......

 

and....

 

What is the difference bewteen PVR4, PVR5 & PVR6?

 

Cheers

Stephen

 

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
The Future
S1
Posts: 762
Joined: ‎29-10-2010

Re: What size is the hard drive in my HD box?

WonderWabbit+S


My question is What do you look for which tells ?......
If you look for make and model number of box located at rear of box, then Google you will find info

and....

What is the difference bewteen PVR4, PVR5 & PVR6?
These are different generations 4 being oldest 6 being newest. Again you can Google it

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Graduate
WonderWabbit+Ste
Posts: 49
Joined: ‎07-04-2013

Re: What size is the hard drive in my HD box?

Many Thanks!

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
The Future
S1
Posts: 762
Joined: ‎29-10-2010

Re: What size is the hard drive in my HD box?

You're welcome, glad this was helpful
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Graduate
WonderWabbit+Ste
Posts: 49
Joined: ‎07-04-2013

Re: What size is the hard drive in my HD box?

[ Edited ]

[QUOTE]

Senior Member (Bronze)
S1
Re: WhatsizeistheharddriveinmyHDbox?
 on ‎08-04-2013 07:28 AM  WonderWabbit+S


My question is What do you look for which tells ?......
If you look for make and model number of box located at rear of box, then Google you will find info

and....

What is the difference bewteen PVR4, PVR5 & PVR6?
These are different generations 4 being oldest 6 being newest. Again you can Google it [/QUOTE]

 

Answer

[QUOTE]

Isitme's Avatar
Isitme is offlineSky User Moderator
Exchange: Bannockburn
Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
Router: Sky Hub SR101
Sky TV: Sky+ HD
 Location Central Scotland

Source: http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-hd-supertelly/50087-pvr4-vs-pvr5-vs-pvr6-whats-difference.html#po... 

 

Re: PVR4 vs PVR5 vs PVR6... what's the difference?

Apart from the fact you can get Anytime+/On Demand on a Samsung, which you can't on a Thomson, there is little difference between the two. In fact, the Thomson is said to have a superior PQ, and has component outputs should you need them. The HDD size is the same.
The PVR4, Amstrad DRX780 (discontinued by Sky) has a similar size disk 300Gb.
The PVR5, Amstrad DRX890 has a 500Gb disk, divided 250/250.
The PVR6, Amstrad DRX895 has a 1.5Gb disk, divided 1000/500.[/QUOTE]

 

 

The answer of matching make+model number with the internet is not a solution for me as one of my 3 x PVR5's has had its HDD upgraded to PVR6 (by a Sky dealer/Amazon Market).

Now i don't know which box is which.....

For this reason i was hoping there was an engineers way of accessing setup which would identify what HDD was running

 

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.