Help
Help
 
Archived Discussions
This page has been archived
The content on this page may be out-of-date or have been superseded by newer information. Links on this page to other sites may not work and contact information may be inaccurate. This page has been archived for future reference.
Learn more about this message
Reply
Occasional Visitor
Michael+Finnigan
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-04-2011

Sky Wireless Broadband not working on vista laptop but works perfectly well on my other devices.

Very confused that my sky wirless broadband works perfectly well on 3 devices but dosent work on my laptop which runs vista. After speaking to a sky technicican for over an hour we tried new IP adresses and all sort of stuff but we couldent get it working via wireless.

 

If the laptop is  wired the laptop works perfectly fine and the other 3 devices work so the Broadband is working, just not with this laptop.

 

I was informed the problem  was with  Vista and i would have to contact my laptop supplier but this dosent make sense as it worked previosley with o2 Broadband and it works with BT broadband at my fathers house

 

anybody got any ideas- its driving me mad..............

 

been suggested it could be the router which is the black box router

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Super User
Damien-SW
Posts: 1,987
Registered: ‎27-01-2011

Re: Sky Wireless Broadband not working on vista laptop but works perfectly well on my other devic

if all other device are connecting then its stomething to do with you laptop, deleive all the wifi network and re add it, could be stuck using your old details

----------------------------
If I have replied to one of your post for help and asked a question which you have answered but not got a reply from me feel free to PM to remind me to check your post.

Also if i have helped please click on kudos and if I solved the problem please make my post as a solution.

Damien
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
ripcurl1
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-04-2011

Re: Sky Wireless Broadband not working on vista laptop but works perfectly well on my other devic

I've come across this probelm myself with the Brother in Law's laptop. It works fine at my house via my Sky router. All my laptop connects fine at his home as does all the other wireless devices. When I called Sky I recieved the same advice. It's a problem with Vista and I've got to take the laptop to a PC specialist to get this sorted. 

Will post any solution that I find. 

 

:mansad:

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Super User
Damien-SW
Posts: 1,987
Registered: ‎27-01-2011

Re: Sky Wireless Broadband not working on vista laptop but works perfectly well on my other devic

try reinstall the drivers for the laptop wifi and purge history for detected wifi connections

----------------------------
If I have replied to one of your post for help and asked a question which you have answered but not got a reply from me feel free to PM to remind me to check your post.

Also if i have helped please click on kudos and if I solved the problem please make my post as a solution.

Damien
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Contributor
sambostew51
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎07-01-2011

Re: Sky Wireless Broadband not working on vista laptop but works perfectly well on my other devic

Do you have the new sagem 2304n router?

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
ripcurl1
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-04-2011

Re: Sky Wireless Broadband not working on vista laptop but works perfectly well on my other devic

I'm not too sure. I'm visiting there tonight so will check :manhappy:

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Visitor
JimmySalmon
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎20-04-2011

Re: Sky Wireless Broadband not working on vista laptop but works perfectly well on my other devic

You need To Update ur wireless drivers, will work fine, go into control panel - device manager - network adaptors - wireless adaptor - driver - update driver should work if not go to the makers website and find the latest drivers on there. 100% work :smileyvery-happy: 

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Visitor
g4fne
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎21-04-2011

Re: Sky Wireless Broadband not working on vista laptop but works perfectly well on my other devic

Alleleuhia. After 7 days dealing with the same problems, updating the wireless network drivers solved the problem for me. Its catch 22 to though as need an internet connection to do that. Fortunately my neighbours wireless connection was accomodating. Thanks for the response to this thread.

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
ripcurl1
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-04-2011

Re: Sky Wireless Broadband not working on vista laptop but works perfectly well on my other devic

Will give it a go and let you know the results, cheers!

 

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
wee+dave+83
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎18-05-2011

Re: Sky Wireless Broadband not working on vista laptop but works perfectly well on my other devic

Hello, I think this may be the same issue as I am experiencing: HTC desire connects fine (using it now), but my laptop running Vista only has 'local' access wirelessly. I had managed to connect to the net using the ethernet cable. However, I phoned Sky to try resolve it. Their advice was to change channel to 6 and to run the sagemcom firmware update included on the set-up cd. The update failed, and now the ethernet connection doesn't work either! They sent me a new router (tho it is just another 2304N!) but still my laptop won't connect via wireless or ethernet. I'd like to update the wireless drivers. Could anyone help me reset the Ethernet settings so I can access the internet through a wired connection? Many thanks, Dave

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Super User
Dsldude
Posts: 890
Registered: ‎26-10-2010

Re: Sky Wireless Broadband not working on vista laptop but works perfectly well on my other devic

Sounds like you have left your IP set manually to the recovery address

follow these steps to set back to auto. http://www.balliol.ox.ac.uk/current-members/setting-your-vista-computer-to-automatic-ip

 

Once your back working with Ethernet go to Start/ Programs/ Windows Update, run it and then click view

available updates, driver updates will be in the optional category, update and install what is available.

 

Try and make a wireless conection again.

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
wee+dave+83
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎18-05-2011

Re: Sky Wireless Broadband not working on vista laptop but works perfectly well on my other devic

Fantastic, seems to have got it working! Many, many thanks

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
nandkdavis
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎21-06-2011

Re: Sky Wireless Broadband not working on vista laptop but works perfectly well on my other devic

I had the same problem with my wife's laptop that runs on vista and mine runs on xp. i found an easy simple solution. log into the routers admin settings http://192.168.0.1 username = admin password = sky. in the wireless settings change the wireless network key from WPA-PSK to WEP. you need to enter a phrase or word and get it to automatically generate a WEP key **** the WEP key is about 30 characters long, I would suggest saving it to your desktop on the laptop or even writing it down ***

 

Once you have done this, re-start the laptop that uses vista and search for available wireless networks. enter the WEP key and hey presto suddenly you can connect without issue.

 

I'm a great problem solver but not majorly technical so have no clue why this works but have tried it with several friends and works every time. maybe something to do with vista not liking WPA-PSK keys and prefers WEP ?!?!?

 

Hope this helps

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
Tom+Hornsby
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-11-2011

Re: Sky Wireless Broadband not working on vista laptop but works perfectly well on my other devic

My son-in-law is my computer guru, and we solved this connection problem with an older Acer laptop by locating, dowmloading and installing the latest Atheros drivers for the wireless network adapter. Worked like a charm after that!

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
AJU82
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎21-11-2011

Re: Sky Wireless Broadband not working on vista laptop but works perfectly well on my other devic

Wireless driver update works perfectly. You saved a huge amount of turmoil with that knowledge - thank you so much!!
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.