Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
 
Help
Help
 
Archived Discussions
This page has been archived
The content on this page may be out-of-date or have been superseded by newer information. Links on this page to other sites may not work and contact information may be inaccurate. This page has been archived for future reference.
Learn more about this message
Reply
Visitor
A.Cooper
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-09-2012

Sky Hub - Portforwarding

Im having a problem forwarding my ports on my new sky router. I recently upgraded to sky fibre and with the increased speed I was going to create a server for me and my mates to play games on. The problem is that after following the instructions regarding adding the service with the ports and my IP. Then adding the service to the inbound rule. I still don't have the 4 port's open. The port's are 25000,25001,25002,25003. I use http://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/ to check if my port's are open. Can anyone help at all ? Regards A.Cooepr
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Contributor
RedBull2k
Posts: 172
Registered: ‎07-09-2012

Re: Sky Hub - Portforwarding

go here http://192.168.0.1/sky_services_custom-add.html

click to add custom service

select tcp or udp or both which ever you need.

Name: server
Type:
Start Port: 25001
Finish Port: 25003
 
click apply.
 
the service is now ceated and ready to be forawrded to your server ip.
 
do you know the ip of your server?

my speed

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Community Coordinator
Andy-F21
Posts: 3,633
Registered: ‎20-08-2012

Re: Sky Hub - Portforwarding

Hey A.Cooper, great to see you coming to our Community for advice on Port Forwarding, and that RedBull2k has offered some assistance :smileyhappy:

 

Have the steps that RedBull2k posted helped?

 

If you still require some assistance on this, the steps within our Sky Hub : How to Configure Port Forwarding article may be of use.

 

Let me know how you get on and I can assist further if you still need me.

 

Thanks,

Andy
Community Coordinator
Community Welcome, Hints & Tips
Sky Help Centre http://www.sky.com/help

New to the forum? Click here
Tagging your posts and others with relevant key words is another way to help,
it also counts towards forum rank.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Visitor
A.Cooper
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-09-2012

Re: Sky Hub - Portforwarding

Unsure but when I run speedtest.net I get : External IP: 151.230.34.9 Internal IP: 192.168.0.2, 10.52.166.123 Thing is I followed you instructions adding a custom service and everything but then when I go back to check if my port's are forwarded it still comes up with No.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Community Coordinator
Andy-F21
Posts: 3,633
Registered: ‎20-08-2012

Re: Sky Hub - Portforwarding

Thanks for getting back to me on this A.Cooper.

 

We'd be unable to provide any further support on this other than the steps on how to configure Port Forwarding.

 

That being said, you may find that a member of our Community can help out further with this, they're very knowledgeable :smileywink:

 

So come on guys! Can you help a friend in need?

 

If there's anything else I can help with, please let me know and I'll help out.

 

Thanks,

Andy
Community Coordinator
Community Welcome, Hints & Tips
Sky Help Centre http://www.sky.com/help

New to the forum? Click here
Tagging your posts and others with relevant key words is another way to help,
it also counts towards forum rank.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Contributor
RedBull2k
Posts: 172
Registered: ‎07-09-2012

Re: Sky Hub - Portforwarding

Creating the service is one part. Time to forward it to your computer, first things we need to do is change your internal ip, to something unique.

 

Go here http://192.168.0.1/sky_lan_ip_setup_addmac.html

 

In the attached device table, click on the check box with the ip address that belongs to your server. This is 192.168.0.2 as you have already stated.

 

This autofills reserve an ip addess, now chnage the ip address to 192.168.0.50. now you will have a unique ip.

 

click apply.

 

now just close the browser, and retart your machine.

 

check your internal ip address it should be 192.168.0.50

if it is not repeat the steps above

 

go here http://192.168.0.1/sky_firewall_rules-in.html

change the details to these

 

Service                     server
Action                      ALLOW always
Send to LAN Server   192.168.0.50
WAN Users
Start: . . .
Finish: . . .
Log                         Always
 
now click apply.
 
dont check if the ports are open yet as it will show closed as nothing has requested yet to use those ports.
 
Run your game then after your mates have tried to connect to you then run a test to see if any of the ports are open,
 
If not, then its prob the firewall on your machine. Do a quick test turn off firewall on your computer.

 

my speed

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.