Reply

Install Multiroom myself

Answered
Go to Answer
Researcher
Posts: 5
Post 1 of 13
27,755 Views

Install Multiroom myself

Hi I'm a proper novice, I have HD at the minute to one TV, so cable goes from dish through wall into HD box.

 

In another room I want to have multiroom, but want to get a + box and do it myself, problem is I am having a new floor laid in the new room next week so want to lay the cable this week.

 

Can someone tell me what cable I need to lay in the room, then where does this cable go, to my dish or does it have to join to the existing cable somewhere or does it have to go back to my existing box ?.  Again how does this join work, do I need to buy somerthing else.

 

Also what are the connectors called I need to put on end of cable to go into my new box when i get it.

 

Sorry if this has been asked before i did search but couldnt find an answer.

 

kind regards

 

M

Answer

Best Answers
Answer
Executive Producer
Posts: 6,277
Post 2 of 13
30,751 Views

Re: Install Multiroom myself

You need to check that the dish LNB is at least a quad ( 4 ports ), so that extra cable(s) can be run directly to your multiroom box.  WF100 is fine for the job.  Either two single cables or one shotgun ( twin core ). 

 

The connections at the box and dish are called F-connectors ( more info here ).  Visit any good sat installation shop, or Maplins etc for advice.  All pretty standard gear.

 

Remember that the multiroom box has to be permanently connected to a phone line, so have a think about that too.  The Sky cable that runs from the back of the Sky box to the phone point is a RJ11-to-BT cable.  They come in different lengths, and are cheap.

All Replies
Reply
Answer
Executive Producer
Posts: 6,277
Post 2 of 13
30,752 Views

Re: Install Multiroom myself

You need to check that the dish LNB is at least a quad ( 4 ports ), so that extra cable(s) can be run directly to your multiroom box.  WF100 is fine for the job.  Either two single cables or one shotgun ( twin core ). 

 

The connections at the box and dish are called F-connectors ( more info here ).  Visit any good sat installation shop, or Maplins etc for advice.  All pretty standard gear.

 

Remember that the multiroom box has to be permanently connected to a phone line, so have a think about that too.  The Sky cable that runs from the back of the Sky box to the phone point is a RJ11-to-BT cable.  They come in different lengths, and are cheap.

Researcher
Posts: 5
Post 3 of 13
27,743 Views

Re: Install Multiroom myself

Thanks Kenneth, will i be able to simply see the ports at the back of the dish

Researcher
Posts: 5
Post 4 of 13
27,741 Views

Re: Install Multiroom myself

Hi again

 

another question if thats ok, if I buy a sky + box privately, run the cables myself then ring sky and get multiroom will that work is there anything else i need from sky.

 

same for a HD + plus box could I use one of those (I may not get HD at the minute does that matter) do I need any othere sort of card for the box or would sky supply that when I ring about multi room

Researcher
Posts: 5
Post 5 of 13
27,737 Views

Re: Install Multiroom myself

Sorry another question if you can help me, (should have waited and put them all on one post sorry)

 

Does multiroom subscription (£10.25) allow you to receive and record sky plus + or do you have to pay extra to get another + feed (I already have HD you see)

 

hope this makes sense and you can help

 

M

Executive Producer
Posts: 6,277
Post 6 of 13
27,733 Views

Re: Install Multiroom myself

The LNB is on the front of the dish in the middle.  The ports are where the F-connectors are attached.

Executive Producer
Posts: 6,277
Post 7 of 13
27,732 Views

Re: Install Multiroom myself


Mattnews1889 wrote:

Hi again

 

another question if thats ok, if I buy a sky + box privately, run the cables myself then ring sky and get multiroom will that work is there anything else i need from sky.

 

same for a HD + plus box could I use one of those (I may not get HD at the minute does that matter) do I need any othere sort of card for the box or would sky supply that when I ring about multi room


If you setup everything, the only thing you need from Sky is the multiroom subscription and they will send you a new card for the multiroom box.  Same for the HD box.

Executive Producer
Posts: 6,277
Post 8 of 13
27,731 Views

Re: Install Multiroom myself

Your multiroom subscription allows you to use the full Sky+ facilities.  Also, if you only have one feed for your existing HD box you will need to run another for the Sky+ facilities on it as well.

 

I do suggest you enlist help locally as you are a novice, or phone Sky and get them to do the whole installation.  Usually £65.

Researcher
Posts: 5
Post 9 of 13
27,674 Views

Re: Install Multiroom myself

many thanks again Kenneth

 

last point i promise can i use a HD box just as sky +, i might get HD agin for the other room but not at the minute so if i buy a HD box in readiness will that work ok with normal sky + then if i decide i can have the multi room switched to hd

Executive Producer
Posts: 6,277
Post 10 of 13
27,672 Views

Re: Install Multiroom myself

There is no difference between Sky+ and Sky+HD satellite dish requirement, cabling or connections.

New Viewer
Posts: 1
Post 11 of 13
26,233 Views

Re: Install Multiroom myself

i have just ordered multiroom.you get a sky hd plus box for 29.00 and pay 5.00 for sky to install.you have to be an existing customer tho,

 

kind regards

Runner
Posts: 1
Post 12 of 13
21,965 Views

Re: Install Multiroom myself

Is this true? I was told that I would have to pay £199 for a sky+ multiroom
box. I am an existing customer!
Runner
Posts: 4
Post 13 of 13
20,615 Views

Re: Install Multiroom myself

I was told I have to pay £49.99 for sky plus hd box and £60 to install Im just gunna do it myself lot cheeper xx
Recommended Threads
Infoseeker 02-12-2016 01:10 PM
23-10-2016 06:22 PM
05-10-2016 09:10 PM
06-11-2016 10:31 AM
23-09-2016 12:58 PM