Help
Help

Archived Discussions
This page has been archived
The content on this page may be out-of-date or have been superseded by newer information. Links on this page to other sites may not work and contact information may be inaccurate. This page has been archived for future reference.
Learn more about this message
Mattnews1889
Accepted Solution

Install Multiroom myself

Hi I'm a proper novice, I have HD at the minute to one TV, so cable goes from dish through wall into HD box.

In another room I want to have multiroom, but want to get a + box and do it myself, problem is I am having a new floor laid in the new room next week so want to lay the cable this week.

Can someone tell me what cable I need to lay in the room, then where does this cable go, to my dish or does it have to join to the existing cable somewhere or does it have to go back to my existing box ?.  Again how does this join work, do I need to buy somerthing else.

Also what are the connectors called I need to put on end of cable to go into my new box when i get it.

Sorry if this has been asked before i did search but couldnt find an answer.

kind regards

M

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Senior Member (Platinum)
Kenneth+M

Re: Install Multiroom myself

You need to check that the dish LNB is at least a quad ( 4 ports ), so that extra cable(s) can be run directly to your multiroom box.  WF100 is fine for the job.  Either two single cables or one shotgun ( twin core ). 

The connections at the box and dish are called F-connectors ( more info here ).  Visit any good sat installation shop, or Maplins etc for advice.  All pretty standard gear.

Remember that the multiroom box has to be permanently connected to a phone line, so have a think about that too.  The Sky cable that runs from the back of the Sky box to the phone point is a RJ11-to-BT cable.  They come in different lengths, and are cheap.