Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
 
Help
Help
 
Archived Discussions
This page has been archived
The content on this page may be out-of-date or have been superseded by newer information. Links on this page to other sites may not work and contact information may be inaccurate. This page has been archived for future reference.
Learn more about this message
Reply
Frequent Visitor
FCUM2005
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎17-11-2011
Accepted Solution

Help, box stuck in update mode

I got up this morning and a big message on my screen said updating software, do not turn box of or disconnect the power supply. Update takes 10 minutes.so I didnt..Ive got home from work 12 hours later and its still there on my screen so I disconnected it and repowered and the message is still there..What do I do?

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Super User
kato
Posts: 9,950
Registered: ‎26-03-2011

Re: Help, box stuck in update mode

Follow this advice.

 

1. Power the box off at the mains power supply.

3. Locate the backup button on the front/top of the box.

4. Press and hold in the Backup button, and while doing this switch the box back on at the mains supply.

5. Continue to hold the Backup button after you have powered on, you should see within 60 seconds 3 more lights come on the front of the box? At this stage you can release the Backup button.

6. If you have 4 lights lit, it means the box is going through the forced download procedure. Leave for 15 minutes then try to see if your Issue is resolved.

 

If that fails then the next step will be a front panel reset (This will reformat the hard drive losing all saved recordings):

 

1. Power the box off at the mains power supply.

2. Locate the left and right arrow buttons either side of the select button on the front/top of the box.

3. Press and hold both the left and right arrow buttons in together, and while holding power the box back on and continue to hold the buttons after the red light comes back on.

4. Continue to hold the buttons, you should see within 60 seconds, the blue/green circle light in the centre of the box light up a full circle.

5. Let go the buttons then press select button on the box twice.

6. You should see the blue/green circle light moving anti-clockwise and the record and play lights in the centre flashing on/off.

7. Once the lights go off, the box will have rebooted and you will now only have the red standby light lit on the box.

8. If you can now wait 2 minutes before switching the box back on from standby to see if the fault has resolved

___________________________________________________________________________________________

If you have been helped by someone please click on the thumbs up icon to give them Likes.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Frequent Visitor
FCUM2005
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎17-11-2011

Re: Help, box stuck in update mode

Cheers, ill try that when I get home from work tonight. I wont be happy if I lose all my recordings..Not a good start, ive only had sky for about a month..

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Frequent Visitor
FCUM2005
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎17-11-2011

Re: Help, box stuck in update mode

Well not best pleased. Ive ended up having to completly reboot the box. Ive lost everything..Gutted. Not what I expect after having sky for a month. I now have to download stuff via torrent to catch up on stuff..

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Super User
caesarome
Posts: 44,835
Registered: ‎27-10-2010

Re: Help, box stuck in update mode

Perhaps some of the content you lost might be available on Anytime+ if you have access to it and Sky Go ?

__________________________________________________________________________________________.

If someone has helped you then please click on the LIKES button in their post.
I do not work for Sky.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
Casul+user
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎29-07-2013

Re: Help, box stuck in update mode

Happened to me too. all I did was switch off from the mains for 5 mins, switch it back on then retry after 5 more minutes. works fine now!

 

:smileyhappy:

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Visitor
Pedro+de+Senna
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎21-03-2013

Re: Help, box stuck in update mode

I CANNOT believe what a piece of trash this sky software/box is! Good God!

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Super User
Mark39
Posts: 19,704
Registered: ‎30-11-2010

Re: Help, box stuck in update mode

Pointless post unless you tell us what issues you're having.

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.