Archived Discussions
This page has been archived
The content on this page may be out-of-date or have been superseded by newer information. Links on this page to other sites may not work and contact information may be inaccurate. This page has been archived for future reference. Learn more about this message
Reply
Runner
Posts: 12
Joined: ‎08-05-2012

Fibre in my area?

Okay, so I checked the openreach site, http://www.superfast-openreach.co.uk/where-and-when/, and the closest exchange to me is the bridgeton exchange, and i'm pretty sure that's the one im on and it says they're accepting orders yet when i phoned up they said there's no fibre optic in my area. 

 

Any idea when it'll be available in my area?

 

Thanks Smiley Wink

Retired Staff Member
Posts: 4,825
Joined: ‎20-01-2011

Re: Fibre in my area?

Hi MattBee

 

Thanks for getting in touch.

 

Can you try our broadband checker as this should let you know if you can order fibre broadband from us.

 

Let us know how you get on.

 

Cheers

Runner
Posts: 12
Joined: ‎08-05-2012

Re: Fibre in my area?

Yeah broadband checker says It's no available to me. I'm wondering when it will be available in my area of the exchange is accpeting offers for fibre optic according to the open reach site.

 

Thanks Smiley Wink

Camera Operator
Posts: 856
Joined: ‎18-10-2011

Re: Fibre in my area?

If you are connected to the Bridgeton exchange this is enabled for FTTC. This doesn't mean its available to you though unless you have the new cab installed and active which you are connected to.
Runner
Posts: 12
Joined: ‎08-05-2012

Re: Fibre in my area?

Ahh okay, but will it be enabled soon for sky too in my area? or is that unknown?

Staff
Posts: 9,052
Joined: ‎21-10-2010

Re: Fibre in my area?

Hi MattBee, have you tried the BT Infinity availability checker? Does this show it's available to you?

Malcolm-M
Runner
Posts: 12
Joined: ‎08-05-2012

Re: Fibre in my area?

Yeah I checked it and BT infinity isn't available to me either. 

Sound Designer
Posts: 108
Joined: ‎16-04-2011

Re: Fibre in my area?

Hi MattBee

To confirm which is your telephone exchange click ExchangeFinder if you haven't already done so it's worth using Sky's online fibre availability checker to register your interest.keep an eye on the infinity checker,once it advises "Fibre Available Now" you'll know your street cabinet is FTTC ready.If you've registered an interest in Sky Fibre Sky should contact you when Sky Fibre BB becomes available for you to order,in the mean time keep using Sky's online Fibre availability checker .Smiley Happy

 photo 2785434328.png
Runner
Posts: 12
Joined: ‎08-05-2012

Re: Fibre in my area?

Yeah I was right about the exchange i was on. But why does the open reach checker say that it's available and accepting orders but no where seems to do it in my area?

Runner
Posts: 1
Joined: ‎01-11-2012

Re: Fibre in my area?

I've recently just had Sky Broadband installed into my area and am extreamly happy with it. With not know what i would get speed wise i just thought i'm having sky TV installed i mays well have sky broadband installed. To my horror when BT came to install our internet they said and told us that our AREA is a fibre area and through BT we would recieve speeds off around 54MBPS. Sky have stated i'm not in a fibre area..... so what is going on am i in a fibre area or am i not in a fibre area ... going further i asked next door what they had and they do indeed have BT infinity speeds of up to 74MBPS averaging around 54MBPS where i've been told there is no fibre in our area and i'm going to now have to wait untill my sky braodband contract ends before i can move to BT. SKY PLEASE WHEN ARE YOU GOING TO ACTIVATE MY LINE FOR FIBRE ON SKY INSTEAD OF HAVING TO WAIT!!!!!

Staff
Posts: 6,992
Joined: ‎20-12-2010

Re: Fibre in my area?

Hi imorgan632, 

 

Thank you for taking the time to post & sorry for the delay in replying. 

 

Can you please put your full postcode here, & give me your exchange code & I'll check availability at the exchange.

 

I look forward to your reply.

 

Runner
Posts: 2
Joined: ‎12-01-2013

Re: Fibre in my area?

Hi,

 

My exchange code is LWWEM. Can you tell me if it's available at my exchange please?

 

Thanks Smiley Happy

Executive Producer
Posts: 5,883
Joined: ‎21-12-2010

Re: Fibre in my area?

[ Edited ]

There is an detailed post here (written by another member) that  might help you.

 

It explains how to check the availability of Sky Fibre to your line/address:

 

http://helpforum.sky.com/t5/Sky-Fibre-Broadband/Sky-Fibre-Availability/m-p/850190#M8223


++ speedyrite ... is powered by Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro ++ is a networks & broadband specialist ++ is an occasional reader of your posts, but is no longer a contributor of answers/solutions/help to your Sky Fibre Broadband questions or problems ++ recommends NOW TV - streaming is the future of tv ++ Click here to view my blog ++ Click here to view my Sky Community profile ++
Runner
Posts: 2
Joined: ‎12-01-2013

Re: Fibre in my area?

Well that link has answered my question Smiley Sad

Thank you for the extremely quick response though! Smiley Happy
Researcher
Posts: 42
Joined: ‎21-08-2011

Re: Fibre in my area?

i have had bt infinity 2 for over a year now and infinity before that but when i asked about sky fibre its not available in my area how come you use the lines openreach installed