Archived Discussions
This page has been archived
The content on this page may be out-of-date or have been superseded by newer information. Links on this page to other sites may not work and contact information may be inaccurate. This page has been archived for future reference. Learn more about this message
Reply
Researcher
Posts: 27
Joined: ‎19-06-2011

Re: F@st2504n

SKY sent me the  F@st2504n router around April this year as a replacement for my former SKY netgear one.

Oracle
Posts: 5,624
Joined: ‎19-01-2012

Re: F@st2504n

Sorry, my fault, should have read the date of the original post! Glad the firmware update seems to have fixed it though.


KingfisherUKSky Q & Virgin Customer  Volunteer Beta Tester  Community Oracle
Managing Editor
Posts: 1,693
Joined: ‎01-02-2011

Re: F@st2504n

Sky usually send out old stock if its for a free replacement - if your a new customer or paying you get a hub
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Test Socket - Router Stats - inSSIDer - TCP Optimizer - DNS Benchmark - Speedchart
Service Updates - Troubleshooting - Pingtest - Speedtest - Do you need a MAC.?
Improve your Wi-Fi - Planner Rebuild & System Reset
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Researcher
Posts: 27
Joined: ‎19-06-2011

Re: F@st2504n

That's true...they did offer me the Hub for £35 or so, or a F@st2504n for free. Considering the bad press that the hub gets on here regarding it's poor wifi reception, I didn't think it seemed a wothwhile extra. Am I missing any great benefits?

Production Supervisor
Posts: 1,883
Joined: ‎17-12-2010

Re: F@st2504n


super-killie wrote:

That's true...they did offer me the Hub for £35 or so, or a F@st2504n for free. Considering the bad press that the hub gets on here regarding it's poor wifi reception, I didn't think it seemed a wothwhile extra. Am I missing any great benefits?


 

Not really, the specs are very similar.

Oliver.
Managing Editor
Posts: 1,693
Joined: ‎01-02-2011

Re: F@st2504n

sorry for the late reply...busy

 

they are almost identical, infact apart from firmware theres no real difference in terms of hardware - the wifi should perform similar to each other, if it doesnt then its down to firmware and not hardware

 

2504N = BCM6362 (DECT capabilitys in chipset)

HubV1 = BCM6361 (no DECT capability in chipset)

wikidevi.com/wiki/Broadcom

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Test Socket - Router Stats - inSSIDer - TCP Optimizer - DNS Benchmark - Speedchart
Service Updates - Troubleshooting - Pingtest - Speedtest - Do you need a MAC.?
Improve your Wi-Fi - Planner Rebuild & System Reset
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Runner
Posts: 1
Joined: ‎09-09-2013

Re: F@st2504n

I've started having the same problem with my WI-FI. All of my families devices that connect over WI-FI, wont reconnect after they have gone out of range or have been turned off and on again! 

Whats worrying me is that I am running 6.14.6a4N-UNI Firmware on my f@ST2504n.

I have tried all the steps you tried but still have the problem.