Reply

Error code 104!

Answered
Go to Answer
Runner
Posts: 13
Post 1 of 7
3,939 Views

Error code 104!

Afternoon everyone,

 

Recently my Sky+HD box has been saying there is not a telephone line connnected. I have tried swapping cables with new ones. I have tried connecting it straight into the phone socket instead of through my ADSL filter. Still nothing.

 

The error code 104 message comes up when trying to view my bill on through the Sky box. However yesterday, I managed to view a movie from the Sky store. Surely the phone line is required for this?

 

Is it an issue with the box itself?

 

Thanks in advance.

Answer

Best Answers
Answer
Staff
Posts: 7,551
Post 2 of 7
4,514 Views

Re: Error code 104!

Hi StuMiddleton84,

 

Welcome to the community Smiley Happy

 

The error code 104 means that the box believes that the telephone like is engaged. Can you check the following and let us know how you get on?

 

  • The phone point that the box is connected to - do you get a dial tone (this can be checked by plugging a phone only to the phone point)
  • Is there any voicemails on the line that have not been listened to.
  • Also, that when you are seeing this error message - is anyone using the phone

 

Thanks

Anne
Community Coordinator
Take a look at the latest exclusive Sky customer offers

All Replies
Reply
Answer
Staff
Posts: 7,551
Post 2 of 7
4,515 Views

Re: Error code 104!

Hi StuMiddleton84,

 

Welcome to the community Smiley Happy

 

The error code 104 means that the box believes that the telephone like is engaged. Can you check the following and let us know how you get on?

 

  • The phone point that the box is connected to - do you get a dial tone (this can be checked by plugging a phone only to the phone point)
  • Is there any voicemails on the line that have not been listened to.
  • Also, that when you are seeing this error message - is anyone using the phone

 

Thanks

Anne
Community Coordinator
Take a look at the latest exclusive Sky customer offers

Runner
Posts: 13
Post 3 of 7
3,899 Views

Re: Error code 104!

Thank you Anne. The problem was a new BT Answer 1571 message. Everything is working as normal now.
Staff
Posts: 7,551
Post 4 of 7
3,873 Views

Re: Error code 104!

Hi StuMiddleton84,

That's fantastic news Smiley Happy

Thanks for coming back and letting us know that everything is working OK, I hope that your feedback will help other users who may see the same error code.

Hope to see you around more on the forum again.

Regards,
Anne
Community Coordinator
Take a look at the latest exclusive Sky customer offers

New Viewer
Posts: 1
Post 5 of 7
3,096 Views

Re: Error code 104!

It happens ti me cant access sky services when someone is on the phone
Oracle
Posts: 34,129
Post 6 of 7
3,091 Views

Re: Error code 104!

That's normal. Your Sky box uses the phone line to access the interactive services such as your bills, and clearly can't do so if the phone's in use.

Researcher
Posts: 17
Post 7 of 7
3,081 Views

Re: Error code 104!

You would think they would update software to give you the option of using your boradband connection if your Sky Box is hooked up to your router...

Reply
Recommended Threads
03-04-2017 06:55 PM
24-06-2017 07:38 PM
RYSECO 17-05-2017 09:35 PM
11-04-2017 11:43 PM
chamsx 29-04-2017 01:09 PM