Archived Discussions
This page has been archived
The content on this page may be out-of-date or have been superseded by newer information. Links on this page to other sites may not work and contact information may be inaccurate. This page has been archived for future reference. Learn more about this message
Reply
I'm New Here
Pollyboy
Posts: 1
Joined: ‎31-08-2013
Accepted Solution

Do you need to have a telephone line connected to your sky box if you have your broadband conntected

I have now connected my sky+ box to my modem and was wondering if i stillhave to have my telephone cable connected to my sky box?
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Getting There
lashurst
Posts: 7
Joined: ‎27-08-2013

I had Sky fitted a week ago and I'd bought the wi fi box....

I had Sky fitted a week ago and I'd bought the wi fi box. The engineer said I didn't need a phone line as I was connected by wi fi. So I'm wondering if I did need the phone connected too.

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Retired Staff Member
StacieB
Posts: 2,545
Joined: ‎01-11-2011

Hi Pollyboy,   Thanks for your post and sorry for the lat...

Hi Pollyboy,

 

Thanks for your post and sorry for the late response.

 

If you have just one Sky box, then the box is not required to be connected to your telephone line; however you won't be able to make use of the interactive services or order Sky Store movies without the box connected to the telephone line.

 

With the box connected to your router, you'll be able to use our On Demand service however.

 

I hope this helps.

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Retired Staff Member
StacieB
Posts: 2,545
Joined: ‎01-11-2011

Hi lashurst,   Thanks for your post and sorry for the del...

Hi lashurst,

 

Thanks for your post and sorry for the delay in getting back to you.

 

The box would still need to be connected to the telephone line to order Sky Store movies and to use the interactive services. The wifi connection will only allow you to make use of the on demand service.

 

 

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Protégé
no1gooner
Posts: 168
Joined: ‎07-05-2012

Re: Do you need to have a telephone line connected to your sky box if you have your broadband connte

@StacieB slightly wrong info there it's true single box households don't need a phone line but you can order box office/sky store movies through your broadband since the latest update, the only requirement for the phone line is for interactive services, if you have multiroom a phone line has to be connected to all boxes no matter what.
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
I'm New Here
stephen0002012
Posts: 3
Joined: ‎31-12-2013

Re: Do you need to have a telephone line connected to your sky box if you have your broadband connte

 

This is rubbish isnt it - I would  never have left Virgin if I had to connect a telephone line to the box - I was told that all that was needed was a wireless connector box. Which I bought. I have already downloaded from sky store before using the wireless connection - so i know it works already. So how come suddenly its been switched off

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Getting There
Jo16478
Posts: 5
Joined: ‎12-12-2012

Re: Do you need to have a telephone line connected to your sky box if you have your broadband connte

I think this is ridiculous and is making me debate moving to Virgin. I have Apple TV so it's not so much of an issue but don't understand why we can't access skystore via the broadband router either.
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Super User
nsewell
Posts: 1,066
Joined: ‎27-08-2012

Re: Do you need to have a telephone line connected to your sky box if you have your broadband connte

There's been some changes since this thread was started.

If you have a Sky+HD box (except a Thomson) connected to the Internet with the latest software your box will be able to do the following over the Internet:
Make monthly callbacks to Sky
Make PPV purchases such as Sky Store and Box Office
Access limited interactive services.

Single box households are not required to have their box connected to a phone line
New multiscreen customers (on or after 18th December) are not required to have their box connected to a phone line only an Internet connection where possible.
Existing multiscreen customers (before 18th December) are currantly still required to have their box connected to a telepone line.
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Retired Staff Member
amberw94
Posts: 825
Joined: ‎29-05-2013

Re: Do you need to have a telephone line connected to your sky box if you have your broadband connte

Hi Jo16478 and stephen0002012,

 

Thanks for joining us on the community. Recently we have made some changes to the service regarding making purchases over broadband.

 

What nsewell said is correct, you can make purchases over broadband on a Sky+HD box however Sky+ boxes do not have the internet connection function so you will be unable to make purchases on here without a phone line connection. 

 

If you have any other questions please don't hesitate to pop back on the forum. 

 

Thanks, 

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Getting There
Jo16478
Posts: 5
Joined: ‎12-12-2012

Re: Do you need to have a telephone line connected to your sky box if you have your broadband connte

I had to repost as am really disappointed and to be honest annoyed by the response I received on here. After asking the question, and having a sky+ HD box connected to my Sky broadband we sat down last night to spend the £4.49 gift from Christmas on Captain Phillips. Given the responses above I was unable to purchase WITHOUT my phone line being connected. Therefore the "gift" is wasted, my evening was ruined watching old movies and I again feel like I am spending £100 a month on a service which cannot kept up to date with other services such a virgin or Apple TV!!!
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Super User
Mark39
Posts: 20,788
Joined: ‎30-11-2010

Re: Do you need to have a telephone line connected to your sky box if you have your broadband connte

Did you check whether your Sky+HD box is running the latest software?

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Getting There
Jo16478
Posts: 5
Joined: ‎12-12-2012

Re: Do you need to have a telephone line connected to your sky box if you have your broadband connte

Thanks Mark. I've just checked this, as sky didn't tell me to and it does have the most up to date software.
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
I'm New Here
kdownes
Posts: 1
Joined: ‎18-02-2014

Re: Do you need to have a telephone line connected to your sky box if you have your broadband connte

I have been a multi room customer for over 2 years and neither of my boxes are connected to a phone line (both engineer installed) and I am charged correctly? Guess I should be thankful!
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Super User
Mark39
Posts: 20,788
Joined: ‎30-11-2010

Re: Do you need to have a telephone line connected to your sky box if you have your broadband connte

Yes! Of course you could still be charged from tomorrow!

Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.
Getting There
Jo16478
Posts: 5
Joined: ‎12-12-2012

Re: Do you need to have a telephone line connected to your sky box if you have your broadband connte

You are really lucky!!!
Please do not post any personal details or account information. Please use plain text.