Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
 
Help
Help
 
Archived Discussions
This page has been archived
The content on this page may be out-of-date or have been superseded by newer information. Links on this page to other sites may not work and contact information may be inaccurate. This page has been archived for future reference.
Learn more about this message
Reply
Visitor
clairedaz
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎17-07-2011

Connecting Sky HD to surround sound and tv

We have a Sony HD Bravia (2006) tv, sky hd box and a newly purchased panasonic blu-ray home theatre sound system(scbtt362) .

 

I brought this for hubby fo Christmas but on trying to follow the instructions we are pulling our hair out. as the tv is old there is only one HDMI so we purchased a splitter and have connected the blu ray hdmi cable and the sky direct into the tv.  As the tv has no option for an optical digital audio cable we have purchased audio cables (red and white) and have commected them from the blu ray into the tv (under the HDMi).  We can watch the blu ray but have no idea how to make it work whereby we can watch the tv using the surround sound.

 

And now to top it all we are unable to get sky tv to show on the tv (but can get sky via the sky eye to another tv).

 

I would be grateful if someone could help, the user manuals are very complicated and confusing, and even more fustrating my hubbie is not able to use his christmas present.

 

Thnak you

 

Claire

x

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Super User
Mark39
Posts: 19,142
Registered: ‎30-11-2010

Re: Connecting Sky HD to surround sound and tv

Hi Claire,

 

The splitter won't be of any use to you, as it's designed to produce two outputs (e.g. 2 tv screens) from one input (sky box): you need the opposite - two inputs (home cinema and sky box) to one output (your tv). These devices don't work in reverse.

 

However, all is not lost because you can make your home cinema do this for you.

Connect the HDMI cable from your sky box to the HDMI1 IN socket on the back of your home cinema.

Connect a second HDMI cable from the HDMI ARC AV OUT socket on your home cinema to your TV.

For Sky Dolby Digital sound, connect an optical cable from the Sky box to your home cinema Digital Audio In socket

The red/white phono connection from your TV to your home cinema looks correct.

 

The rest of what you need to do is change the settings in your home cinema to accommodate your setup. To listen to the TV, you'll need to change the source to 'Aux' or 'Ext' - try cycling through the options available by pressing the ipod button the remote.

 

To get Dolby Digital sound from your Sky box, you'll need to set the optical audio input to take precedence over the audio input from HDMI1.

 

Change your cable connections first, then try the new settings. If you have no joy, post back and we'll see if there's an online manual to help you further.

 

 

 

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Visitor
clairedaz
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎17-07-2011

Re: Connecting Sky HD to surround sound and tv

Thank you for your reply. On the back of the home cinema there is only 1 hdmi port being av out,there is nothing else.

Help.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Super User
Mark39
Posts: 19,142
Registered: ‎30-11-2010

Re: Connecting Sky HD to surround sound and tv

Check the model number of the home cinema you quoted in your first post. Both the Panasonic website and this one - check the photo of the rear panel (http://www.trustedreviews.com/panasonic-sc-btt362_Surround-Sound-System_photos_3) show the SC-BTT362 as having two HDMI inputs and 1 HDMI output.

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Visitor
clairedaz
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎17-07-2011

Re: Connecting Sky HD to surround sound and tv

Hi it is scbtt262.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.