Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
 
Help
Help
 
Archived Discussions
This page has been archived
The content on this page may be out-of-date or have been superseded by newer information. Links on this page to other sites may not work and contact information may be inaccurate. This page has been archived for future reference.
Learn more about this message
Reply
Occasional Visitor
ben......
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-02-2011
Accepted Solution

Changing Primary Account Holder

Hello,

 

Is it possible to change the primary account holder?

 

There is a page called 'changing account holder' here: Link The page reads:

 

If you want to change the Primary Sky iD go to Manage Profile, sign in with the Sky ID that you want to upgrade and follow the steps.

 

When I follow the instructions I always get the following message:

 

Sorry, we're experiencing a few technical problems

 

Unfortunately, we can't process your request at the moment, but we hope to be up and running again as soon as possible. Please try again later.

 

Any ideas?

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Community Coordinator
michael-r
Posts: 1,154
Registered: ‎22-12-2010

Re: Changing Primary Account Holder

Hi ben......,

 

We have tried this out with a couple of advisors and with one person it is coming up with the same message, with another the procedure is working correctly. So the problem does seem to be intermittent. What we are doing is contacting a specialist in this field to see if we can find out why this is happening. Hopefully, by Monday latest, we will have an update if not a resolution. We will keep the thread updated.

Michael
Community Coordinator
Community Welcome, Hints & Tips
Sky Help Centre http://www.sky.com/help

New to the forum? Click here
Tagging your posts and others with relevant key words is another way to help,
it also counts towards forum rank.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Community Coordinator
Malcolm-M
Posts: 8,488
Registered: ‎21-10-2010

Re: Changing Primary Account Holder

Hi ben......, We no longer allow the primary Sky iD to be changed. This functionality was removed last year. I'll highlight that the page contains incorrect information.

Malcolm-M
Community Coordinator
Community Welcome, Hints & Tips
Sky Help Centre http://www.sky.com/help

New to the forum? Click here
Tagging your posts and others with relevant key words is another way to help,
it also counts towards forum rank.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
ben......
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-02-2011

Re: Changing Primary Account Holder

Thanks for the update Malcolm,

 

I'm moving out of a shared property where the remaining occupants want to take on the Sky contract. Is there any way we can arrange that?

 

It seems daft to cancel and then start the installation process again?

 

 

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Community Coordinator
Malcolm-M
Posts: 8,488
Registered: ‎21-10-2010

Re: Changing Primary Account Holder

Hi, Sky contracts can't be passed to another person. They do not need to have Sky TV installed again but you would need to give your notice and they would need to start a new contract. New viewing cards would then be sent.

Malcolm-M
Community Coordinator
Community Welcome, Hints & Tips
Sky Help Centre http://www.sky.com/help

New to the forum? Click here
Tagging your posts and others with relevant key words is another way to help,
it also counts towards forum rank.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
Lockstock
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎23-02-2011

Re: Changing Primary Account Holder

Hi Macolm

 

I was wondering if the previous primary user would be charged for cancellation even though existing housemates would be willing to take over the contract? How long notice would be required?Cheers

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Community Coordinator
Malcolm-M
Posts: 8,488
Registered: ‎21-10-2010

Re: Changing Primary Account Holder

Hi Lockstock, this depends on account specific factors such as whether they are still within a minimum term. The account holder would need to contact us to discuss it.

Malcolm-M
Community Coordinator
Community Welcome, Hints & Tips
Sky Help Centre http://www.sky.com/help

New to the forum? Click here
Tagging your posts and others with relevant key words is another way to help,
it also counts towards forum rank.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
jackbrim
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎26-09-2011

Re: Changing Primary Account Holder

Please help because it is driving me mad:smileymad:

I am new to sky and have registered my id etc that you have to do when logging into mysky but when ever i go to change anything it keeps saying i am the secondary user but i log in with the id that registered with except i have changed the password. Is there anywhere that i can go to get the details of the primary user account because i want to order something and i cant until i log in as primary.

 

Thank you

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Community Coordinator
chelsea12
Posts: 5,195
Registered: ‎20-12-2010

Re: Changing Primary Account Holder

Hi jackbrim

 

I will send you a private message so I can check this for you, if you can reply as soon as you get a minute that would be great. 

 

Thanks

Jane
Community Coordinator
Community Welcome, Hints & Tips
Sky Help Centre http://www.sky.com/help

New to the forum? Click here
Tagging your posts and others with relevant key words is another way to help,
it also counts towards forum rank.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
Aron+Buckland
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎22-12-2011

Re: Changing Primary Account Holder

Hi

I don't ever remember singing up to Sky with a different account yet the one I do sign in with is a secondary account meaning I can't change a thing online. Can I upgrade this to a Primary account?

Thank you,
Aron
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Super User
caesarome
Posts: 43,969
Registered: ‎27-10-2010

Re: Changing Primary Account Holder

I don't think you can change it to a primary one but you can find out what you login details for the primary one are by selecting the "forgotten username" and then "forgotten password" links here:

 

https://mysky.sky.com/portal/site/skycom/mysky

 

If this doesn't work then call Sky as they can provide this information for you.

__________________________________________________________________________________________.

If someone has helped you then please click on the LIKES button in their post.
I do not work for Sky.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
SelbyJohn
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-04-2012

Re: Changing Primary Account Holder

Hi

 

I'm new to Sky, having been nagged to join for the F1 channel by my daughter.

 

The problem is that my daughter has an app for her iPad which she uses to display information on F1. On setting up the app she has established herself as the primary account user. How could that possibly happen given that I had supplied my information when I ordered the service?  This isn't appropriate since I'm the person paying for all of this...

 

From the email stream above it would appear that the primary user account cannot be changed. Is that really the case?

 

regards

 

John

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Retired Staff Member
GregorA
Posts: 9,518
Registered: ‎21-03-2011

Re: Changing Primary Account Holder

Hi SelbyJohn,

 

Thanks for bringing your queries to the Sky Help Forum.

 

You are able to change the primary account holder for your Sky iD. I suggest that you click here and follow the information that one of your senior members posted.

 

Regards.

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Occasional Visitor
harora
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎13-04-2012

Re: Changing Primary Account Holder

Hi 

I am having the same problem. the account I registered has been set up as a secondary user.

Please help.

 

I have already tried the forgot username and password idea.. it does not work.

Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.
Super User
caesarome
Posts: 43,969
Registered: ‎27-10-2010

Re: Changing Primary Account Holder


harora wrote:

I have already tried the forgot username and password idea.. it does not work.


Why doesn't it work, if you follow the steps through and provide the information needed then it should work.

 

Failing that call Sky and they will sort it out for you.

__________________________________________________________________________________________.

If someone has helped you then please click on the LIKES button in their post.
I do not work for Sky.
Stay Safe: Don't post any personal details or Sky account information. Plain text only in this box.