Archived Discussions
This page has been archived
The content on this page may be out-of-date or have been superseded by newer information. Links on this page to other sites may not work and contact information may be inaccurate. This page has been archived for future reference. Learn more about this message
Reply
I'm New Here
Posts: 8
Joined: ‎28-12-2013
Accepted Solution

Can only record program I'm watching, turning off single mode loses program synopsis.

Fed up with only being able to record programmes I'm watching, on the forum I read about "turning off single mode" doing this made me lose the "program synopsis". Also when I pressed record on another channel it showed the red R next to the program but the red light wasn't on the front of the box. 

 

Thanks in advance for any help.

El Capo
Posts: 7,447
Joined: ‎30-03-2012

Re: Can only record program I'm watching, turning off single mode loses program synopsis.

Oracle
Posts: 26,970
Joined: ‎30-11-2010

Re: Can only record program I'm watching, turning off single mode loses program synopsis.


indanthrone wrote:

I just cant understand, it used to record a second program then it just stopped doing it.


If you've been able to record two programmes simultaneously in the past, then you must already have two cables from the dish. Yes, it's easy to dislodge or loosen a connection when you move the box, so try that first. There are some further simple checks you can carry out if that doesn't help, so let us know how you get on.

View solution in original post

El Capo
Posts: 7,447
Joined: ‎30-03-2012

Re: Can only record program I'm watching, turning off single mode loses program synopsis.

[ Edited ]

Hi it should be all good to go. You will see to signal feeds in the settings menu and back to watching and recording one recording two! Please accepted this as a solution to help others! Thanks Sean

View solution in original post


All Replies
El Capo
Posts: 7,447
Joined: ‎30-03-2012

Re: Can only record program I'm watching, turning off single mode loses program synopsis.

Hi why did you turn off? Just turn it back on! You need two feeds, only customers with single feeds need to switch that on.Thanks Sean
I'm New Here
Posts: 8
Joined: ‎28-12-2013

Re: Can only record program I'm watching, turning off single mode loses program synopsis.

I did turn it back on. I still can't record a program I'm not watching.

Oracle
Posts: 26,970
Joined: ‎30-11-2010

Re: Can only record program I'm watching, turning off single mode loses program synopsis.

Can you confirm you have two feeds from the dish? What are the signal strengths on each dish input (Services > Settings > Signal)?

I'm New Here
Posts: 8
Joined: ‎28-12-2013

Re: Can only record program I'm watching, turning off single mode loses program synopsis.

[ Edited ]

I only have input 1 and both bars (signal and strength) look full.

El Capo
Posts: 7,447
Joined: ‎30-03-2012

Re: Can only record program I'm watching, turning off single mode loses program synopsis.

Hi thats why you can only record one program at a time. Can you get a second feed? Thanks Sean
I'm New Here
Posts: 8
Joined: ‎28-12-2013

Re: Can only record program I'm watching, turning off single mode loses program synopsis.

Sorry I don't really know what that means. I'm not very technical.

 

El Capo
Posts: 7,447
Joined: ‎30-03-2012

Re: Can only record program I'm watching, turning off single mode loses program synopsis.

Hi no worries. You only have one cable from the dish to the Sky box if you look at the back you will see it. you need two cables. Thanks Sean

http://www.jasonhill.co.uk/sky-hd-single-feed-mode-how-to
Oracle
Posts: 26,970
Joined: ‎30-11-2010

Re: Can only record program I'm watching, turning off single mode loses program synopsis.


indanthrone wrote:

I only have input 1 and both bars (signal and strength) look full.


If you have only one cable from the satellite dish, then I'm afraid you can only record or watch one live programme at a time. You also need to have Single Feed Mode set on to allow your Sky box to work correctly with one cable.

I'm New Here
Posts: 8
Joined: ‎28-12-2013

Re: Can only record program I'm watching, turning off single mode loses program synopsis.

Thanks. is the second cable something I attach to the box and the dish as well as the cable that's there already? 

I'm New Here
Posts: 8
Joined: ‎28-12-2013

Re: Can only record program I'm watching, turning off single mode loses program synopsis.

I just cant understand, it used to record a second program then it just stopped doing it. Perhaps I've pulled a cable out when moving it. I'll check tomorrow.

El Capo
Posts: 7,447
Joined: ‎30-03-2012

Re: Can only record program I'm watching, turning off single mode loses program synopsis.

I'm New Here
Posts: 8
Joined: ‎28-12-2013

Re: Can only record program I'm watching, turning off single mode loses program synopsis.

Just looked at the back of the box. The second cable had came away from the metal screw that attaches it to the box. Ive reconnected it and I'll have a fiddle to see if I can get the box to recognise it. Thanks for all your help. 

Oracle
Posts: 26,970
Joined: ‎30-11-2010

Re: Can only record program I'm watching, turning off single mode loses program synopsis.


indanthrone wrote:

I just cant understand, it used to record a second program then it just stopped doing it.


If you've been able to record two programmes simultaneously in the past, then you must already have two cables from the dish. Yes, it's easy to dislodge or loosen a connection when you move the box, so try that first. There are some further simple checks you can carry out if that doesn't help, so let us know how you get on.

El Capo
Posts: 7,447
Joined: ‎30-03-2012

Re: Can only record program I'm watching, turning off single mode loses program synopsis.

[ Edited ]

Hi it should be all good to go. You will see to signal feeds in the settings menu and back to watching and recording one recording two! Please accepted this as a solution to help others! Thanks Sean