Help
Help

Archived Discussions
This page has been archived
The content on this page may be out-of-date or have been superseded by newer information. Links on this page to other sites may not work and contact information may be inaccurate. This page has been archived for future reference.
Learn more about this message
Contributor
tadjray

4Mb Download speed, is that it?

Hi everyone

I am new to Sky Broadband, I've been with Talktak for over 2 years, the only reason I left TT is because it was Limited to 40gig, I was hopping for truly unlimited broadband with Sky would sort my problem.

With TT my download speed most of the time was over 7mbps! I switched over to Sky on 26 June, the date of the activation and I got this message in my email

"Leave your Sky router turned on for the first ten days. That way we can test different broadband speeds and sitting on your line. We will start a download speed of up to 4Mb on the first day, then increase your speeds and set your line to provide the best speed and most reliable connection."

That's fine, I understand that my line needs to be tested,  on My Skyunder my broadband it says

Your Sky Broadband & Speed Estimate

You have Sky Broadband Unlimited.

When you purchased Sky Broadband, we estimated that the maximum download speed for your line was 9.6Mbps - 16.4Mbps.

Which is great! But scrolling a little bit down, you can also read

Your Connection Details

Line testing is not currently in progress on your telephone line.

Does that mean all that I can get is 4mbps? Actually with several Speedtest the result is lower than that the test always return the result of 3.5 ~ 3.6 Mbps that is half of what I was getting with TT

I would like to know if this is the top speed I can get with Sky?

Some info about my router

The router is connected directly into the main socket

The PC is wired to the Router ( basically the same setup I had with TT, I have just swapped the router and the microfilter

Router Statistics